Search Unity

Triggers help

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by tom4396, Nov 18, 2019.

1. tom4396

tom4396

I am trying to make a script where when the player opens the door there is a blank brick wall behind it with blood writing on (it’s a horror game) and it plays a sound , could someone help me out on a script or on how to do this ? I have very little knowledge of scripting and have been using unity for a few weeks now and just can’t take it all in .

2. dgoyette

dgoyette

Well, I doubt you're going to find a script that opens a door, revealing a brick wall with bloody writing on it. That behavior is a combination of several unrelated things.

First of all, the visual don't have anything to do with a script, in general. In most cases, you'd model the environment using ProBuilder, or an external tool like Blender, to create the 3D geometry, and then use some other program to texture it. All all of the 3D stuff you'd build that outside of a script.

The "script" side of things comes in when you want to make something move in your game. You can add a collider set to "Is Trigger", then add a script to it which contains an "OnTriggerEnter()" method. In that script, you can animate the movement of a door, set a trigger on an animation controller, etc, to get a door to open, among other things.

Ultimately, what you're asking for sounds pretty simple, but it touches on a fair number of topics. How far are you along on the 3D visuals? Do you have the room/house/door created yet? Do you have a first-person character who can walk around in that space?

3. SisusCo

SisusCo

You can utilize the Hinge Joint to make a door that can be opened. Then you can use "Target Position" under the "Spring property to make the door open to the given angle.

For the sound you need the AudioSource component. Set "Play On Awake" to False and manually call
    AudioSource.Play() when you want to play the sound.