Search Unity

Resolved Trigger event(s) to do [something] inside VFX graph

Discussion in 'Visual Effect Graph' started by raaan127, Sep 6, 2022.

1. raaan127

raaan127

Hello,
    I am looking for a way to manipulate a VGX graph system, like:
    - Trigger an event to kill all/some particles
    - Trigger an event to change size, alpha, etc...
    Is there a way to do so?
    upload_2022-9-6_18-38-41.png

The event node I found only tied to a spawn node and I don't know what to do with it (I have very little experiences of coding).
    I only found tutorial to trigger event to spawn more particles

2. Qriva

Qriva

There is no way to do this with events, but it's possible to create event like behaviour with property.
    Create boolean property in blackboard, implement your logic and run it when property is true. For example when it's true then set color to red, otherwise set to current color (nothing changes). If you are on unity 2022 this should be even easier as boolean port where implemented in blocks.

Remember to reset property value to false in the next frame, so it does work once.

Marie_G and raaan127 like this.
  3. raaan127

raaan127

It there a way to get VFX time within VFX Graph right when the bool is activate and store it as a float to use later?
    I was thinking about this node but havent found a way to use it.
    upload_2022-9-7_9-4-31.png

btw, is it able to change bool within VFX Graph?

Last edited: Sep 7, 2022
  4. Qriva

Qriva

Right now I am not aware of any way to store or update blackboard property from inside the graph, however you can store it in one of particle attributes. If you need only one value per all particles then it's a lot of duplicated data, but it should definitely work and if it's just one float it should be fine. Whatever makes your job done :D

raaan127 likes this.
  5. Marie_G

Marie_G

Unity Technologies

Hi!
    You can try this method, or use directly the output of the branch.