Search Unity

Tricks for motivation when you lack skills....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hillsy7, Nov 16, 2018.

1. hillsy7

hillsy7

How does everyone handle their limitations when it comes to the multifaceted process of game development?

I’m currently building what is fundamentally a simple game: a sort of Gauntlet clone. Pixel art sprites, run around maps killing monsters, Picking up loot, worrying about Health economy. Fine. Great. But I’m working towards a rough picture in my head that is significantly sharper than my current skills are able to reach.

For example I’m not an artist, so I started using placeholders for things. However, without even simple animations the controls I have feel slack and unresponsive – I’m not happy with 3 or 4 simple colour palettes I’ve used so far – I’m pretty sure the tileset I’m using to build the levels is severely lacking in proper shading and detail…….

OK – so I stop and take a breath and accept that graphics can be enhanced over time. So I look into simple art programs, and realised immediately how far away from competency I am. This is going to take months and months to learn just how not to suck at art, and that’s before getting the right art for the game. Frankly, even to get this very simple game “Looking” right – not even taking into account balancing the animation to sharply match the controls – you’re looking at years of learning and upskilling..............And that's just the artwork to hit the minimum level where you still retain an excitement in the project......

So limitations being what they are –and the fact we all have them in some capacity and to varying degrees – how do you keep working? What’s the trick or solution to making something that fundamentally will never be as good as what you hope it will be, even something as simple as a gauntlet clone?

Gekigengar likes this.
  2. LaneFox

LaneFox

Get better at it.

Gekigengar, xjjon, MD_Reptile and 7 others like this.
  3. Kiwasi

Kiwasi