Search Unity

Trees flickering like mad in VR

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by nsmith1024, Feb 10, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nsmith1024

nsmith1024

Hello,

Sorry if i ask silly question, im fairly new to VR, so i made a nice scene sort of like a forest with a bunch of trees. When i play it in regular (non VR) is looks really nice, when i build it for VR it looks really bad, the trees flickering like crazy, especially the leaves when you look up at it with the sky behind it.

I have HTC VIVE.

Anyone know anything about this or how to solve it?

Thanks!

2. EoinOF

EoinOF

Add anti-aliasing to your scene through post-processing effects on your camera. Go with MSAA for grass and tree heavy scenes. Then go into your steam VR settings and turn your super sampling up to what is recommended or no higher than 200%. Are you using a rendering pipeline like LWRP?

3. nsmith1024

nsmith1024

Thanks for the help, i will try all of that. No i was not using any pipelline.

4. FlightOfOne

FlightOfOne

Did you ever resolve your issue? If so care to share what you did? I am having the same exact problem.

5. nsmith1024

nsmith1024

No it was never resolved, i stopped doing VR

6. FlightOfOne

FlightOfOne

Did you ever resolve your issue? If so care to share what you did? I am having the same exact problem.
    Ah that sucks. I mean I know exactly how to fix it at an unrealistic, hefty graphic/manpower cost. When I don't have sharp edges (as in real life every edge has a width), on meshes I don't get this problem. I have few models with tapered smooth edges and they do not have this problem. I really hope there would be a solution to this. Everything I have tried either they don't do a good job or the ones that work kills the quality of graphic by completely removing sharpens.

7. nsmith1024

nsmith1024