Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Trees change color in distance

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by TOES2, Apr 15, 2018.

  1. TOES2

    TOES2

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    109
    I have tried everything I can think of, but my trees still change color in the distance like this:


    This is rendered using the terrain shader "built in legacy (diffuse)", same problem with the others.

    The only solution I found is to set the billboard start distance very short, like 50, but this is not an option for my use.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2018
  2. Homicide

    Homicide

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    259
    I could be wrong, but im pretty sure its an LOD issue.

    Unity uses LOD to increase performance. So basically all your trees at distance are just cardboard cutouts with no shadowing etc
     
  3. TOES2

    TOES2

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    109
    Actually, the problem is the opposite of what you said. If I enable billboarding the problem goes away. However I need to render the tree models all the way to the distance (framerate is no concern for me as I am rendering to a video).
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2018
  4. Homicide

    Homicide

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    259
    Odd. Yea as i said, im not too sure. I dont use unity terrains, so my knowledge of their terrain assets is pretty limited.

    Anyways, hopefully ya get that sorted. Cheers
     
  5. TOES2

    TOES2

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    109
    Yes, finally figured it out. I had to disable mip-maps and alpha channels on the tree textures.
     
    Homicide likes this.
  6. Homicide

    Homicide

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    259
    Good to know. Ty for solution
     
  7. Job_MTalha

    Job_MTalha

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2021
    Posts:
    35
    I tried it but it dint work. Help pls?
     
unityunity