Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Thursday, June 8, for a Q&A with Unity's Content Pipeline group here on the forum, and on the Unity Discord, and discuss topics around Content Build, Import Workflows, Asset Database, and Addressables!
    Dismiss Notice

Trapping if Unity Editor is foreground...

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by LightStriker, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. LightStriker

    LightStriker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,715
    Sounds easy, right? Find if the Unity Editor process is the currently focused foreground window.

    For the love of all that is holy, I can't find a way to do it.
     
  2. ZO5KmUG6R

    ZO5KmUG6R

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Posts:
    484
    Uhm. The way I would go about this is using windows APIs, but that wouldn't be a great production solution.
     
  3. LightStriker

    LightStriker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,715
    I tried, can't even do that. The Managed code, for some reason, doesn't have a valid MainWindow handle, so I can't compare it to the current foreground window handle.
     
  4. ZO5KmUG6R

    ZO5KmUG6R

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Posts:
    484
    You'd find it by process ID, get the main window IntPtr handle of Unity itself.
     
  5. LightStriker

    LightStriker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,715
    Yes, I know that, but the MainWindowHandle always returns 0 for some reason with Unity. I'll look at it again tonight, but I pretty much ran out of idea while using GetForegroundWindow.
     
  6. novashot

    novashot

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Posts:
    373
  7. LightStriker

    LightStriker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,715
  8. -Aymeric-

    -Aymeric-

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Posts:
    110
    Any news on this? Didn't find it too :(
     
  9. Boz0r

    Boz0r

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Posts:
    419
    Just curious. Why do you need to know this?
     
  10. -Aymeric-

    -Aymeric-

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Posts:
    110
    In my custom editor script, I change the android keystore path to be at the correct location on the machine (in my team several people compile the project). I'd like when I switch to a new window (mostly git) revert this change so it's not pushed and won't make conflict.
     
  11. Boz0r

    Boz0r

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Posts:
    419
    Isn't it easier to throw it in .ignore?
     
  12. -Aymeric-

    -Aymeric-

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Posts:
    110
    Unfortunately a ProjectSettings.asset shouldn't be ignored at all by the team ;)