Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Transport switch from UNetTransport to UnityTransport premade Component

Discussion in 'Netcode for GameObjects' started by Finn_O, Mar 11, 2022.

  1. Finn_O

    Finn_O

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    After installing Unity Transport and Unity Transport Wrapper there was the option to use the Unity Transport as the transport in the Network Manager.
    Using this locally worked fine, but after i uploaded it to a server it stopped working. Suddenly i couldn't connect anymore.
    Is there anything I need to code or did I do anything really wrong.

    What I did:
    I used Unity Transport almost the Same as UNetTransport. I only changed the way i set my Connection Addres as it works differently.
    I still just start a server and a client over the NetworkManager Script.
     
  2. luke-unity

    luke-unity

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Posts:
    306
    As long as you set the ip/port values on the Unity transport correctly it should work. If it's working locally but not remotely it's likely unrelated to the transport. Double check whether you have UDP ports open on your server for the port and that you are using the correct IP.
     
  3. Finn_O

    Finn_O

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    On my server Port 7777 is open for UDP/TCP.
    Even when I try to make a connection over LAN it wont work.
    the ip and port are set to the same as I used before with UNetTransport, which could connect.
     
  4. Finn_O

    Finn_O

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    Solution: I forgot too set the IP in ConnectionData this way the Server listened to 127..0.0.1:7777.