Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Transparent particles do not render in URP, whenever the full screen render pass is enabled

Discussion in 'Universal Render Pipeline' started by angeldevelopment, Dec 6, 2023.

  1. angeldevelopment

    angeldevelopment

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2022
    Posts:
    220
    Version: 2022.3.8f1

    All particle shaders do not render when marked as transparent, none of the particle pack materials show.
    Issue goes away once the full screen pass feature is disabled.
     
  2. DevDunk

    DevDunk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    4,847
    Share your shader graph. There are multiple ways of getting the image
     
  3. Arithmetica

    Arithmetica

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Posts:
    38
    Maybe the full screen pass is writing the depth and the particles are failing the depth test?
     
  4. angeldevelopment

    angeldevelopment

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2022
    Posts:
    220
    Switching the injection point to "before rendering transparents" fixes the issue, but still, is tis expected behavior?
    My graph:

    Screenshot 2023-12-06 at 11.50.51 AM.png
     
  5. DevDunk

    DevDunk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    4,847
    I cant read the graph, sorry
    But it could be that only opaque objects are used for the fullscreen effect
     
  6. Arithmetica

    Arithmetica

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Posts:
    38
    The image is too tiny to understand, but I'm guessing that _CameraOpaqueTexture is just drawing back to the state before the transparent objects was drawn?
     
  7. angeldevelopment

    angeldevelopment

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2022
    Posts:
    220
    Sorry, hopefully this is better
    Screenshot 2023-12-06 at 8.46.27 PM.png
     
  8. Arithmetica

    Arithmetica

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Posts:
    38
    DevDunk and angeldevelopment like this.
  9. DevDunk

    DevDunk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    4,847
    I think a fullscreen shader can use the full screen blit ad well. In that case you don't use scene color
     
    Arithmetica likes this.
  10. wwWwwwW1

    wwWwwwW1

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Posts:
    744
    Hi, to include transparent objects, you need to copy the scene color right before your effect:
    • Replace the Scene Color node with URP Sample Buffer node and set the source to "Blit Source".
    • Tick "Color" requirement in the shader graph's full screen pass renderer feature.
    You can open the Frame Debugger to visualize the differences.
     
  11. angeldevelopment

    angeldevelopment

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2022
    Posts:
    220
    Thank you very much, this was the solution I needed.
     
    wwWwwwW1 likes this.