Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Transform error, when trying to change parent

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by azeitler, Mar 24, 2009.

  1. azeitler

    azeitler

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Posts:
    161
    I updated to 2.5 an suddenly one of my Editor scripts does not work any more.
    There is some weirdness and yet unseen error messages when my script tries to change a gameobjects parent. The transform is all messed up, there are errors in set_position, set_parent and overall accessing the transform (Nullreference).

    What could cause this?

    this is caused in a ExecuteInEditMode Script that raycasts to place the object on the ground below.


     
  2. azeitler

    azeitler

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Posts:
    161
    I am still getting this series of errors when trying to set the parent of a gameObject's transform component:

    and after that the GameObject becomes invalid and a NullReferenceException is thrown.

    Please give some advice - urgently!
     
  3. azeitler

    azeitler

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Posts:
    161
    Am I the only one experiencing this problem?!
     
  4. Toxic Blob

    Toxic Blob

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Posts:
    18
    I just had the "Unable to create broadphase entity.” error. Not sure what is causing it…. Time.timeScale is currently set to 0 and I had been away from the game for 5 minutes. Hmm...
     
  5. numberkruncher

    numberkruncher

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts:
    949
    I am occasionally getting the same error when changing the parent of an object (from editor script). I do not understand why there is any sort of actor initialisation taking place because the object already exists.

    Full errors:
    • Unable to create broadphase entity.
    • Actor Initialisation failed: returned NULL.
    • Could not create actor. Maybe you are using too many colliders or rigidbodies in your scene?
    I can safely say that there are not many colliders or rigidbodies in my scene. When editing unwanted objects are destroyed using `Object.DestroyImmediate` as recommended in the documentation.

    When this error does rear its ugly head, it recurs until I restart Unity.
     
  6. yahodahan

    yahodahan

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1,377
    Same exact issue as numberkruncher...except I'm doing some dirty dirty things a la mesh instantiating in the editor, so I expect a few errors here and there- just that this one makes zero sense as far as I can see.

    Anyone have any luck finding the root cause of this? I've been using my editor script for a week-ish now, always yells at me about the meshes, but only recently did the "broadphase..." error start popping up.
     
  7. thebarryman

    thebarryman

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    I'm starting to get frustrated at a lot of performance issues resulting from my Editor scripts for generating procedural levels. This is the latest bizarre one that's popped up, and I haven't really found much help on the others either.
     
  8. numberkruncher

    numberkruncher

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts:
    949
    I did not find a solution for this issue, though since recent versions of Unity (3.5.7 and 4.0) I have not experienced this error at all.