Search Unity

Feedback Transferring Project through Hard Drive

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by caseyel, Aug 1, 2019.

1. caseyel

caseyel

Hello,
    I am a college student and I'm semi-new to Unity. For one of my classes, I decided to work out of my hard drive since my laptop is so slow and the last time I used an animation program, it crashed my computer. I thought this would be the best option so that I could work out of it on some of the on-campus computers.
    I was finally able to get a new computer, but for some reason when I try to open the project through my hard drive, it doesn't recognize it. I installed the exact same version of Unity I have installed on the old one. Both are windows. Please, any help you could offer would be appreciated; I'm just trying to get this project finished without anymore crashes. Thank you!

2. - General Discussion is not a support forum, please choose forums to post and ask for support more wisely
    - what did you actually do? removed the HDD and just put it in another computer?
    - do other things work on your HDD? (It's extremely dangerous to move a HDD without proper protection, there is a high chance to have data loss due to vibrations and small knocks)
    - what version of Unity do you talk about?
    ---- because if late versions, you need Unity Hub and add the project to the Hub
    - what exactly ' it doesn't recognize it' means?

angrypenguin likes this.
  3. Ryiah

Ryiah

Can you provide more information? Were any of the crashes blue screens? Because a program crashing shouldn't crash the entire computer. If the entire computer was crashing that's most likely a sign that the hardware was failing.