Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Transferring design patterns from XNA to Unity

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by zuhane, Aug 13, 2019.

1. zuhane

zuhane

Hello all!

So I've been an XNA developer for quite a long time, but recently decided to make the switch to Unity, mainly because everybody sings its praises and because of the vast amount of tutorials and support available.

In terms of actually creating stuff in Unity, I'm starting to understand how it works and find it fairly easy to prototype little things together. However, I'm still struggling with building anything that has any complexity to it, such as a multitude of weapons or enemies that share behaviours. In XNA, I would either used inheritance or split things into components that use inheritance, but I'm not sure how to do this in Unity.

My current and most specific problem is with a Doom clone I've been working on. I've got various elements working, such as a solid movement system, props, enemies and a few weapons, but I'd now like to expand the player's arsenal to carry more weapons. I'd like each weapon to have exactly 3 firing modes, but I'd like the firing modes to differ massively. The only thing that each weapon has in common is the fact it has a graphic, communicates with the HUD, and contains 3 firing modes.

At first, I figured this would be quite easy. Each weapon used ray-tracing and has similar properties, so I could simply duplicate the prefabs, rename them, change a few graphics and then modify the component appropriately. However, as I've developed my ideas a little bit, I'd like each firing mode to just be its own self-contained thing that I can have full control over, not inheriting or sharing any behaviours.