Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Traffic Racer (3D Endless Racing) for iOS

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by rextr09, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. sh0v0r

    sh0v0r

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    295
    Looks great, did you consider having bends or hills?
     
  2. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    No, not yet. My current implementation is not flexible enough to support that :(
     
  3. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Traffic Racer Update 1.4 is now on the App Store. Lots of new content, features, gameplay improvements and bug fixes are there in this release. Here is the full list of changes:

    NEW FEATURES
    - Added 3 new cars
    - Added 1 new rim
    - Added auto acceleration option

    GAMEPLAY IMPROVEMENTS
    - Two-way mode is now easier.
    - View distance is slightly increased and now depends on speed
    - Slightly increased cash income
    - Driving in the opposite direction now gives extra cash
    - Max overtake bonus now depends on current speed
    - Slightly decreased sensitivity at higher handling levels
    - Decreased the traffic's overcrowding rate

    GRAPHICS IMPROVEMENTS
    - Added anti-aliasing for newer devices.
    - Improved texture quality at car selection menu
    - Improved texture quality on traffic cars
    - Added high speed and camera shake effects
    - Slightly polished car selection screen

    OTHER
    - Added exhaust flame sounds
    - Added countdown where the game is resumed
    - Lots of bug fixes and improvements





    $all_new_v1_4_small.png

    Have a nice day!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. huxley

    huxley

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Posts:
    329
    The graphics look really nice. I like the addition of the snow levels. As far as performance, maybe you could do a larger region check to see if there is a car in the area, then if there is run the more complex collision and AI checks.
     
  5. pavlito

    pavlito

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Posts:
    136
    Good luck to you!

    Any chance we see an Android version? I mean, since it's in Unity. C'mon! :D
     
  6. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    @huxley ,thanks for the tip.
    @pavlito ,thanks, yes there will be also an Android version. And (when Unity supports it) there will be Windows Phone 8 version.
     
  7. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Here is a new car for the upcoming update of Traffic Racer.

    $e30_fb_600.png
     
  8. METALWINGS

    METALWINGS

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    21
    this game look amazing good job man.
    Just my opinion ,but 0,99$ is cheap for the amount of hard work you made.
    Good luck.
     
  9. Jawad

    Jawad

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    How u repeat the pieces of road???
     
  10. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Thanks, yeah I know it's a little cheap and probably a big company could sell it at higher prices. But I'm an unknown guy and this is my first game. So how can I gain confidence of people so that they are ok with higher prices?
     
  11. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Road pieces are repeated according to the cars position. In other words, a new road piece is generated after our car passes a certain point.
     
  12. Jawad

    Jawad

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    can u tell me plz how we can set the position of the new generated piece of road..M stuck in this problem... :(
     
  13. Jawad

    Jawad

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    I done it... :)
     
  14. 4shm3x

    4shm3x

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    118
    I see you have an old honda civic ek9 in there! Looks good :)
     
  15. jessica1986

    jessica1986

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Posts:
    622
    1. Why do i see my road texture blurred on phone ?Blurring is at the far point, as the point comes closer, it becomes clear, why is it so ? How can i improve this

    2. Why are you generating a road like this and why no use occ culling by creating the entire scene ? As you can make a long scene presuming no 1 can play for more than 70 or may be 90 minutes
     
  16. JamesArndt

    JamesArndt

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Posts:
    2,827
    1. - That's called mip-mapping and it helps with the rendering of the world. It creates different resolutions of textures and spans them out a set distance. It's like the LOD of textures.

    2. - Occlusion Culling is a Pro only feature, so a lot of folks don't have access to that. Not to mention if the roads are dynamically loaded, you can't pre-bake the view geometry into the view areas. It just doesn't make sense to bake some view areas in this type of scenario.
     
  17. jessica1986

    jessica1986

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Posts:
    622
    I mean, how can i get rid of mip-mapping ? I never switched it on
     
  18. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    It's enabled by default. You can disable it at texture import options. First, select advanced, then disable mipmapping.
     
  19. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    In addition to JamesArndt's message, you can add some randomness by dynamic loading.
     
  20. Ethan

    Ethan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    501

    In my game "Highway Run" i adjusted the "Aniso-Level" to 3-6 (on the Texture Import Settings) to avoid the blurry street. It helps a lot :)
     
  21. jessica1986

    jessica1986

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Posts:
    622

    Please show me an image, where do i need to do it. And yes dynamic loading is a cool idea. I may rework my scene as i was trying to use Instant OC as it is time saving.
     
  22. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Here in the first image.

    http://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/Components/class-Texture2D.html

    Texture Type -> Advanced.
    Generate Mip-Maps -> Uncheck.
     
  23. JamesArndt

    JamesArndt

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Posts:
    2,827
    M2H Culling is a good simple option for something like this...if you don't have access to Unity Pro and it's Occlusion Culling.
     
  24. aglavarar

    aglavarar

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    i like this game rxtr09..very awesome..
    can you help me??
    i hope your can share about this project for help my thesis..
    i will PM you :)

    thanks
     
  25. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Some graphical improvements for the next update..

     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 21, 2013
  26. andymads

    andymads

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Posts:
    1,525
    @rextr09, I had a quick look at the videos, looks nice!

    Can I ask, is the car moving in the world, or is everything else moving towards the car? If the car is indeed moving do you reset it every so often, or just let it run?
     
  27. I am da bawss

    I am da bawss

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,574
    Wow, I thought I commented on this thread before but I couldn't find it - then I realize its on another thread with very similar looking game called Highway Run LOL...

    Looks great, would definitely be getting this.
     
  28. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    The car is moving, not the world. But I have also tried the other way around. They both work equally good. Can you clarify your second question a bit further?
     
  29. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Thanks! Yes you have replied to my W.I.P thread here:
    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/149451-Traffic-Racer-is-coming-for-iOS
     
  30. andymads

    andymads

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Posts:
    1,525
    Yeah of course. Do you worry about floating point issues as the car gets a long way from the origin?
     
  31. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Oh I see.. No, I didn't think about that. The car just runs infinitely. No problems so far. :)
     
  32. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
  33. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Finally! Traffic Racer 1.5 Update is now available on the App Store! This update brings 1 new location (city night), 2 new cars, replays and many more. Here is the full change list:

    NEW FEATURES
    - Added 1 new location (City Night)
    - Added 2 new cars
    - Now you can watch share your game replays (only for iPhone 4S, iPad 2 and above)

    GRAPHICAL IMPROVEMENTS
    - Improved overall quality of car selection screen
    - Renewed all the rims
    - Improved the model quality of some cars

    OTHER
    - Renewed engine sounds of some cars
    - Relocated the arrow buttons in auto acc. mode
    - Performance optimizations
    - Lots of bug fixes and improvements

    Have Fun!





     
  34. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
  35. huxley

    huxley

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Posts:
    329
    Congrats to making it to #1 in the app store. Great to see all your hard work has paid off!
     
  36. Ethan

    Ethan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    Haha I remember you asking me questions about Highway Run and now you are just rocking the App Store(s)! :D
    Congratulations from me, too. :)
    Great game ... would love to hear a post mortem about it!
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2013
  37. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Thanks.

    Thanks. Yeah, I remember those days :) I wish you also good luck with your games.
     
  38. Autonoma

    Autonoma

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    92
    Any idea what caused that spike in iOS rankings?

    Congrats, it's truly inspiring!!
     
  39. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Thanks. It's because of the recent release on Google Play which is free to download.
     
  40. Autonoma

    Autonoma

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    92
    Wow.. never would I have thought a free release on Android would affect iOS like that. Thank you for the information, it is much appreciated!
     
  41. Seboolek

    Seboolek

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    damn... I'm making game like yours about a year but only on pc.
    This is really good game :)
     
  42. dev1791

    dev1791

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    35
    Hi,
    This is a great game.
    I have noticed that your main car doesn't really turn, but it only switches lanes.
    How have you implemented that?

    Regards
     
  43. gwubgwub

    gwubgwub

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    68
    I got this on my tablet nexus 7, really fun game to play
     
  44. jebo87

    jebo87

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Looks good to me....reminds me of those old school NES games
     
  45. John-Eagle

    John-Eagle

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,
    Can you tell the differences for vehicles between main menu and the game. Polycount, normal map if you used?

    Thanks!
     
  46. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Sorry for the late reply. There is no difference between the cars in main menu and the game.
     
  47. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    It's just transform.Translate :)
     
  48. WarKingdoms

    WarKingdoms

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Hi rextr09, your game looks excellent. We saw your game when looking for a game using anti aliasing. We have a problem about anti aliasing on Android devices. (we are using unity 4.3.1 pro) Do you use standard anti-aliasing or another specific trick? If you use anti-aliasing what is your unity's version?
     
  49. rextr09

    rextr09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    Hi, I use the standard 2x anti-aliasing. My unity version is 4.2.2.
    Thanks.
     
  50. IAmCraigSnedeker

    IAmCraigSnedeker

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Posts:
    117
    I want to thank you for adding a Chevy S10 pickup, it's the truck I have in real life. :)
     
unityunity