Search Unity

Tracked image won't go away

Discussion in 'AR' started by Antistone, Feb 5, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Antistone

Antistone

I'm trying to do a simple test of image tracking using AR Tracked Image Manager and testing on an Android phone. I can get it to recognize some images and instantiate my prefab on top of them. However, when I take the image away, the prefab remains in the scene (even though the "Destroy On Removal" box is checked on the "AR Tracked Image" component).

I'm new to AR tracking. Any thoughts on what might be going wrong / things I should check?

2. DeeForce

DeeForce

Unity Technologies

With ARKit, the images are removed, ARCore images have tracking status TrackingState.None, and in a future release we will be unifying this behavior :)!
    For now you are doing nothing incorrectly and things will be underway on our end :)

3. Antistone

Antistone

I don't seem to be getting TrackingState.None. It only changes between TrackingState.Tracking and TrackingState.Limited.

Even if I cover up the camera so the entire picture is black, or rotate it so that the trackable prefab is completely off-screen, it still claims to be getting limited tracking of the images that it has previously seen.

4. petitbas

petitbas

So is there a workaround to detect when an image is no longer being tracked (both on Android and iOS)?

beatdesign likes this.
  5. beatdesign

beatdesign

Anyone?

6. FrankvHoof

FrankvHoof

@DeeForce "For now you are doing nothing incorrectly"
    I thought the actual implementation was Provider-Specific? I.e. the Provider decides what the 'Update'- and 'Remove'-requirements are?

You state that you will be unifying ARCore & ARKit, but what does this mean for other Providers?