Search Unity

Touch Controls Kit v1.5 - Powerful, Flexible and Intuitive to use touch kit [RELEASED]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Victor-K, Nov 11, 2013.

  1. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Hello Eridani,
    no, I don't remove examples in my assets. Likely is another asset.
     
  2. eridani

    eridani

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Posts:
    655
    I could have sworn it was your asset... you never had an example like this? touch.png
     
  3. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Yes, it`s old version of my Touch Controls Kit. Old name is "Universal Mobile Joystick".
     
  4. eridani

    eridani

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Posts:
    655
    Oh! Could you please send me the older Univeral Mobile Joystick functionality or possibly include that same behavior in your new Touch Controls Kit? I bought your asset a month ago because of that gun functionality... I was planning on making a turret game, but when I finally started my project yesterday, the functionality was gone! I can email you my invoice number. Thank you so much
     
  5. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Okey, fill out this form.
     
  6. eridani

    eridani

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Posts:
    655
    Thanks Victor. I filled out that form about 12 hours ago... please let me know if you didn't get my email and invoice number. Thanks!
     
  7. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Unfortunately I didn't get your email and invoice number.
     
  8. eridani

    eridani

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Posts:
    655
    Resent!
     
  9. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
  10. mdcreation

    mdcreation

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    HI,
    Are you support gestures include: Tap, Double Tap, Drag, Pinch, Twist?
     
  11. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Hello mdcreation, thanks for interest to my asset.
    Unfortunately no, maybe in future updates...
     
  12. mdcreation

    mdcreation

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Cool.. I will wait for new future . I bought already.;)
     
    Victor-K likes this.
  13. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    It's cool, thank you for your purchase!
     
  14. eridani

    eridani

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Posts:
    655
    Hi Victor, thanks again for everything. Do you think you will have time to start working on a steering wheel controller sometime in December? Thank you
     
    Victor-K likes this.
  15. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Hello Eridani, thanks for interest.
    Unfortunately, I'm very busy work with update to another asset. I will try finish it as soon as possible and start working on a steering wheel controller in December(this month), but no promises.
     
    eridani likes this.
  16. Fahrettin

    Fahrettin

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Posts:
    81
    I bought your asset, liked it and i want to use it with Playmaker.
    Can you make playmaker actions for your asset in the (near) future ?
     
  17. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Unfortunately, I do not know the architecture of the "Playmaker".
    I'm sorry, likely "Playmaker" support is not will be.
     
  18. Fahrettin

    Fahrettin

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Posts:
    81
    If you want to support it you can contact Playmaker team.
    They really want to support different assets. If you want it too maybe i can ask them.
     
  19. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Unfortunately, I do not know the "Playmaker" architecture and to study it takes a long time. =(
    I'm sorry, I don't understand why need "Playmaker" support?
    The native API and Broadcasting functions is not enough?
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2014
  20. Fahrettin

    Fahrettin

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Posts:
    81
    Thanks for your replies.
    First of all i am noob. I have Edy's Vehicle Physics (https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/403). I want to add touch support but i could not make it. Normally i use Playmaker for all the time but its not work with your asset. I have little knowledge about coding so i need tutorial for using Broadcasting functions etc.
    (Sorry for my english if its wrong)
     
  21. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    I recommend you see official unity tutorials.
    http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/modules
    C# scripting on Unity is very easy and helpful.
     
  22. rubenpvargas

    rubenpvargas

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    32
    I´m trying to implement this to a Javascript project, but it seems javascript doesn't support nameSpaces... any advice?
     
  23. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Hello rubenpvargas, thanks for choosing my assets,
    please try using Events ( Broadcasting ),
    or you can write a script that will take data from C# and send data to the JS
    if it don`t help you, in January 2015 plans to release update with api for js.
     
  24. domilab

    domilab

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Is there any way to nicely scale this for different size screens with the toolkit? I have 4 buttons and they look nice. However, when I move from the phone to a large tablet, the buttons are just too big on the tablet. I was trying to work something out based on DPI and screenWidth/screenHeight but I can't really get it to play nicely. For Example:
    I want my button to be centered .5 inch from the left. If a device has a DPI of 400, I would want the button with an X value of 200px. I then want to put the next button 1 inch to the right of that button so I can say 1.5*DPI. This would get the spacing correct.
    Then I'd have to be able to do something similar with the height/width of the buttons.

    Basically I'm trying to get a consistent user experience across all devices. I want the buttons to be the same size on phones and tablets. I received a lot of complaints that it was too big on the tablet, but felt great on the phone. Any suggestions?

    I have played around with the offset, baseposition, calcX and different things but I can't get anything to come out nicely.
     
  25. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Hello domilab, try using uGUI ( new Unity UI ) for it.
     
  26. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
  27. Ramsdal

    Ramsdal

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Posts:
    250
    Hi Victor

    It seems like the android application crashes if the Graphics Level is set to automatic under build settings, is this a know issue. If I force OpenGL ES 2.0 it works fine, this happens even on blank project with only Touch Controls Kit installed.

    EDIT: Only crashes when the application is built and pushed to an actual device.

    But at least I have now learnt to do test on the actual mobile device a bit more often, finding the culprit after big project changes can be a challenge ;)
     
  28. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Hello Ramsdal, i tested it on my nexus 7, android 5.0.2 and all works fine.
    Try update your android sdk.
     
  29. Ramsdal

    Ramsdal

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Posts:
    250
    Strange maybe it is just my phone that fails, it is a HTC One S. I will test on another phone, thanks for checking :)
     
  30. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
  31. hakankaraduman

    hakankaraduman

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Posts:
    336
    Hi Victor, I'm really having trouble to implement uGui version of the steering wheel. And I can't access to the online documentation, they are also not present in the package. Can you take a look at that?
     
  32. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Hi there, Yes, how can I help you?
     
  33. hakankaraduman

    hakankaraduman

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Posts:
    336
    It's not accepting when I click on steering wheel on the edge, wants me to start clicking more from the middle of the image. And also, when I change the pivot and anchor settings. It don't work.
     
  34. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Maybe your controller prefab is incorrect?
    Please, check it.

    Correct prefab creation, and all works fine, now I tested it.
    correctPrefab.png

    PS: Online documentation is fine I tested it to, try run your browser in incognito.
     
  35. hakankaraduman

    hakankaraduman

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Posts:
    336
    I needed to set the anchors as shown the image I uploaded but its not working like that. Anyways I changed it to the way you showed. Now It works.

    But still , It accepts the first touch in green areas but not in red areas. I tested also the guiTexture prefab, It accepts the touches on edge , uGui prefab doesn't :(.

    And I also still can't access to the pdf files. I will pm you my Invoice and e-mail, can you send me both pdf files?

     
  36. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    With this arrangement anchors have a problem. At the moment, I don't know how fix it. But it can be fixed in future updates. But I do not understand why needed it, is the same for full-screen elements as background image.
    Manual has been attached on this post.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 11, 2015
  37. hakankaraduman

    hakankaraduman

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Posts:
    336
    Thanks, I changed the anchors as your example , issues as I shown in red and green areas are still a problem. Do you have any idea why this happens?
     
  38. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    This is strange, on my computer all works fine.
    Maybe your controller prefab is incorrect?
    Try create new controller from special menu.
     
  39. hakankaraduman

    hakankaraduman

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Posts:
    336
    I did, I use 4.6.2 . Could this be related?
     
  40. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    I use Unity 4.6.2 too.
    Try create new empty project, or clear metadata, maybe Unity bug.
     
  41. hakankaraduman

    hakankaraduman

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Posts:
    336
    I already did , didn't work and I gave up on uGUI wheel :( I will use guiTexture wheel , it'll work too. Thanks for the help anyways.
     
  42. super-cypher

    super-cypher

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Posts:
    113
    just to let you know, i would also like to have playmaker actions for this. And the actions are EASY to make for your own asset, its mainly copy and pasting.
     
  43. timothyallan

    timothyallan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Hi Victor,

    I just sent this via your support area, but there were other posts previously saying you didn't get the messages so I'll post it here too :)

    I'm using the uGUI touchpad, which works great usually. I've found that if I let the touchpad resize automatically by using the rect transform anchors, it stops working. For example, alt-click on the Anchor presets in the Rect Transform area and pick the fullscreen one. It appears to size properly, but no longer registers touches.

    Using the Width/Height manually works with all the anchors at 0.5, but I need it to dynamically resize for different mobile devices using the Rect Transform settings of Anchor Min (0,0) and Anchor Max (1,1) with LTRB set to 0.

    This also happens with the joystick...

    Does that make sense? Any suggestions?
     
  44. ghost012

    ghost012

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    I'm making a cross platform multiplayer game but i have a problem, the touch joystick is ether faster or slower than key board movement.

    Any ide why this is?
    This is the code:


    Code (CSharp):
    1. public float speed = 6.0f;
    2.  
    3. void Update () {
    4.         #if UNITY_ANDROID||UNITY_IPHONE||UNITY_IOS||UNITY_WP8
    5.         //TouchControls
    6.         if (controller.isGrounded) {
    7.             moveDirection = new Vector3(InputManager.GetAxis("Joystick0", "Horizontal"), 0, InputManager.GetAxis("Joystick0", "Vertical"));
    8.             moveDirection = transform.TransformDirection(moveDirection);
    9.             moveDirection *= speed; //with this on movement is to fast, remove the line and its to slow.
    10.             if (cInput.GetButton("Jump"))
    11.                 moveDirection.y = jumpSpeed;
    12.         }
    13.  
    14.         #else
    15.         //DesktopControls
    16.         if (controller.isGrounded) {
    17.             moveDirection = new Vector3(cInput.GetAxis("Horizontal Movement"), 0, cInput.GetAxis("Vertical Movement"));
    18.             moveDirection = transform.TransformDirection(moveDirection);
    19.             moveDirection *= speed;
    20.             if (cInput.GetButton("Jump"))
    21.                 moveDirection.y = jumpSpeed;
    22.         }
    23.         #endif
    24.         moveDirection.y -= gravity * Time.deltaTime;
    25.         controller.Move (moveDirection * Time.deltaTime);
     
  45. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Hi Tim, Yes I know about this problem, and now working to fixing it.
     
  46. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    set the Sensitivity = 1 or use Mathf.Clamp
     
  47. MD_Reptile

    MD_Reptile

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,595
    I just got your asset, when cn controls stopped working after updating to unity 5. I like it! Good work.

    I have a quick question, can I get normalized values from the joysticks? Just between -1 and 1 for x and y axes would be perfect. Is there an option for this built in?

    Edit: my hacky way to do it is create a vector 2, assign vertical and horizontal axes to it's x and y, then doing .normalized when using the values. This works but I'm still wondering if there isn't a way built into the joysticks scripting.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2015
  48. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    Hello MD_Reptile, thanks for choosing my assets!
    If you need normalised values( from-1 to1) set the Sensitivity = 1.
     
    MD_Reptile likes this.
  49. MD_Reptile

    MD_Reptile

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,595
    Ahh OK. I'll try that tomorrow, thanks for the quick response!
     
    Victor-K likes this.
  50. Victor-K

    Victor-K

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    I`m sorry what? I don`t understand. All examples constains in "zExamples".unitypackage.