Search Unity

Total Beginner... where do I start... information is unclear on "structured learning path"

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by A4L, Nov 26, 2018.

1. A4L

A4L

I do not understand the "structured learning path" information.

I'm a new unity user.. as in it is downloading right now for the 1st time. I'm a old user, I have no interest in making games for profit, but as a hobbiest. I have spent years using AGS and Wintermute making adventure games and what to try Unity's "Adventure studio" plugin thing.

What I am looking for is a well sorted learning path that introduces the application through video tutorials (not live) that I can download / watch and work through at my own pace. The internet is absolutely stuffed with unity tutorials but most are badly done or requires previous knowledge.
    If I click on "learning" and "get started" it tell me this (quoted above)... but that is it.. there is literally no other information I can find out.

Questions.
    1. What is a structured learning path?
    2. Will the "path" take me through beginner stuff like explaining the interface and build up like an actual course I might attend at tech or uni?
    3. Are they vods that I can watch and go through at my own pace?
    4. Will they focus on the application and provide materials so I do not have to worry about making GFX and stuff?
    Basically I am interested in moving my hobby to a this engine and I am finding the sheer amount of information confusing. The choice is so large for learning materials. I just would like some recommendations and how to get started from scratch or if this path is the way to do that, then some more information on what it is.

Thanks!

2. orb

orb

The courses are probably videos since the intro video talks about hours total. They are a linear path of building upon knowledge, starting from zero.

The cheapest way to get started is this though:
    https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials