Search Unity

Tom's Terrain Tools - New Release (Version 2)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Tom163, Dec 12, 2010.

  1. Shack-Studio

    Shack-Studio

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,
    I downloaded and imported your assets a couple of times but it never shows up in the windows drop down...
    Can you help me out Tom?
    Cheers
     
  2. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,623
    Hi,

    Which unity version?
    Are there any errors in the console window? (Window/Console)
     
  3. catfink

    catfink

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    134
    does this work on unity 5.4, I need a tool for playing around with import and export of splatmaps and this looks like it supports that but I'm concerned it may not work with 5.4?
     
  4. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,623
    Hi,
    it works on 5.4 also (just tested on 5.4.1f1),
    but currently there is no direct "export select terrain splatmap" feature (would be easy to add though)..
     
  5. Shack-Studio

    Shack-Studio

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks so much for getting back to me. It turns out i just had to close and reopen my Unity and it worked :)
     
  6. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,623
    Ok, nice. I've had that sometimes if upgrade project to new unity version, have to do re-import all..
     
  7. Veteran66

    Veteran66

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Posts:
    21
  8. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,623
    Hi,

    Works in 2017 (although there is some broken / missing reference errors in examples and default settings)

    Blending additional overlay texture, kind of works, if you modify this one line in the TerrainTools.cs
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. // before
    3. tileSize = EditorGUILayout.IntSlider (tileSize, 3, 127);
    4. // after *need to use full texture size, so that overlay doesnt get tiled
    5. tileSize = EditorGUILayout.IntSlider (tileSize, 3, 2048);
    6.  
    7.  
    8. // also overlay threshold is current clamped in this line
    9. overlayThreshold = EditorGUILayout.Slider (overlayThreshold, 0.1f, 0.9f);
    10.  
    texture is added as an paint texture (last texture here)
    upload_2017-8-14_13-15-3.png


    *Note that this package doesn't have any coming updates planned at the moment (due to limited time from other works..) and in fact it might change into free package sometime in the future. Some bug fixes are still possible though..
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Veteran66

    Veteran66

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    thx for your answer :)
     
  10. Ianjames

    Ianjames

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Hello, I have just bought TTT and when I import it into Unity, it doesn't appear in the Window list, as it's supposed to. Also, I can't get it to do anything at all. I am a complete noob and wonder if anyone can help me...

    Thanks in advance...
     
  11. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,623
    Are there any errors in Console window?
    Which unity version you are using?
     
  12. RobbyZ

    RobbyZ

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Posts:
    18
    Thank you for making this asset free!

    I think I may have found a bug with the splatmap applier (in 2017.4.6f1), it seems the second splatmap is always applied rotated?

    Here is a fix that worked for me:

    TerrainTools.cs line 934:
    col_b = splatmapColors_b[x*width+y];
     
    mgear likes this.
  13. phime-studio

    phime-studio

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Posts:
    48
    Anyone having a issue with freezing while instancing trees and grass(bush, detail)? and 2.7 version is not on asset store...
     
  14. phime-studio

    phime-studio

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Posts:
    48
    it`s Unity 2018.3.8
     
  15. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,623
    Which version
    Which version it shows for you in store? (i see 2.7)

    Could be some issue with 2018.. since its not updated.. ill have a look soon.
     
  16. phime-studio

    phime-studio

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Posts:
    48
    Yes, but when you download it's 2.6 (in the upper left corner i read) or is type error. Thx for support :)
     
  17. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,623
    ok, looks like the issue is with those undo lines,
    it has happened before also (that recording terrain object for undo caused freezing).

    so have to comment out one or both of these lines, unless can find out how to fix it.
    (and note that it then disables Undo for that action)

    inside void ApplyGrassmap()
    // Undo.RecordObject(terrainData, "Apply grass and bush maps");

    inside void ApplyBushmap()
    // Undo.RecordObject(terrainData, "Apply grass and bush maps");

    and version number 2.6 seems to be just typo/missing to set it for 2.7.
     
    phime-studio likes this.
  18. Dwakers92

    Dwakers92

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Im also not able to view the Terrain window within the windows option so i cannot see or directly edit or imput a splatmap into my terrain. Please help me sort :)
     
  19. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,623
    if you have console errors, you'll need to delete that "FirstPersonController.cs" script then. (seems to happen in 2019.2.x)
    after that the menu appears.