Search Unity

To ECS or not to ECS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Reloque, Oct 28, 2019.

1. Reloque

Reloque

I am professional programmer but a Unity hobbyist. I have an idea for a game I'd like to make.

It would look much like the sprite baed space shooters of old that used to be in the arcade halls. It will feature a lot of objects floating around in space that can be interacted with and/or blown up. There would be a bit of building like say Theme Hospital and a bit of resource gathering like Starscape. Actually Starscape is a good reference of what look I am aiming for.

So, now comes the questions; for this new, non-deadlined, hobby project, do I dive into ECS? A technology that shows a lot of promise but that I have very little experience with. Or, do I stick to the MonoBehaviour techniques that I know?

On one hand, new tech and the promise of easier scaling and the insane performance boost that ECS delivers or promises to deliver are very attractive. On the other, the tooling isn't quite there yet and the amount of work to do just to get a few sprites working is quite extensive. ECS seems to be the future, but is that future ready to be used yet?

MushyAvocado and tigerleapgorge like this.
  2. MadeFromPolygons

MadeFromPolygons

That video really helped me. Showed me that the way your thinking about it which is the way most people, myself included, think about DOTs is wrong when it comes to whether to learn it or not and when to learn it or not.

You dont have to commit to it at all, you can incrementally add bits of it to your current projects and reap benefits all while learning it incrementally.

Follow that video and I am 100% certain by the end you will have a good idea of how to start immediatly, as well as have ideas for bits in your own projects that could use it.

In short: yes its ready to be used, and its also 100x easier than you would expect due to the new workflow detailed in that video.

Good luck :)