Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question To create a new game, could I create assets/characters in GIMP and import them to a project?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by RichAllen2023, Jun 12, 2021.

1. RichAllen2023

RichAllen2023

Above.

I have an idea to try and make a simple Space Invaders style retro scrolling shooter, I can create simple Alien characters in GIMP and possibly use them as Assets in the game? Or do I create shapes in Unity to use as the characters?

2. Vryken

Vryken

RichAllen2023 likes this.
  3. RichAllen2023

RichAllen2023

Here's a character I made in GIMP, saved as PNG files, how do I add them as playable characters? Daft question but I'm a total noob.

Attached Files:

4. Vryken

Vryken

There's three ways to import assets into Unity:
    1. Inside Unity, right-click the Assets folder in the Project Window, select "Import New Asset", and then select your files.

2. Outside Unity, select your files, then drag them into Unity and drop them into the Assets folder in the Project Window.

3. Outside Unity, copy/cut your files, navigate to your project's Assets folder on disk, and paste them there.

RichAllen2023 likes this.
  5. RichAllen2023

RichAllen2023

So I put the stick figures into the Assets folder, how now do I use them as playable characters?

6. Vryken

Vryken

Well, "a playable character" is an overarching task to complete, and what "a playable character" is varies from game to game.
    You need to break it down in to multiple smaller tasks:
    • Show the player character in the scene.
    • Make the player character move.
    • Make the player character jump.
    • Have the camera follow the player character.
    • Animate the player character's movements.
    • Etc.
    There's lots of different ways to implement it.