Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

To Code or Not to Code?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 3dgreg, Jan 17, 2017.

1. 3dgreg

3dgreg

I just completed the Developers Course. As a 3d Model/Asset Designer I wanted a better understanding of what works for people creating the actual games as far as assets and how they get integrated and what makes a better model/asset. I can't help but wonder how people are creating games without being able to code, I see that a lot. Seems like you could spend months just trying to find code that would work for you. Guess it's time to move on to coding.

2. aer0ace

aer0ace

Those developers who don't know how to code start off with a visual scriptiing tool like PlayMaker. Unfortunately, while these visual tools are great for an introduction to getting game mechanics working, you eventually realize that visual scripting is more of a crutch, or training wheels, to actual text-based scripting.

3. Tusk_

Tusk_

$65 for something that is free in UE4?

Also I have heard of huge projects being made in blueprints from what I understand there is no limits.

4. DrewMelton

DrewMelton

I started out using visual scripting. I tried Playmaker, and in my time with UE4 I used blueprints.

Honestly, I find them confusing, and this is coming from an artist. Some things are very easy, but as your game gets more complex or you need to do something a bit more involved, I think visual scripting can be just as hard if not more confusing than just coding.

So, I spent some time to learn c#. I'm no master, but I've made a lot more progress with my game since I made the switch.

One thing that helps is that there are so many tutorials in c#, not to mention sample code. Plus, some assets use code.