Search Unity

Games Vacuum Gap (First Person Shooter Project)

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by KnightsFan, Jan 2, 2020.

1. KnightsFan

KnightsFan

Hi all! I've been working off and on as a solo developer on a first person shooter since mid 2013, and have just today made the first public upload of a WIP build. It's a FPS with RPG elements heavily inspired by the original Deus Ex, as well as other games of the era. It's temporarily titled y2K but that will change.

Here's a link to the current build.

I also have a website for it: https://gobuildstuff.com/vacuumgap.html

As a solo developer, I make everything myself: models, scripts, textures, sounds, design, story, music, voices, etc. No free assets or libraries that don't come with the software. It was made almost entirely using free software, the only exception being Reaper for sound editing. Here are a few screenshots of some environments.

Hope you enjoy! I'd love feedback, especially on mechanics. The current levels are not intended to be in the final game, so while I definitely appreciate feedback on their design, they probably won't be adjusted that much.

Last edited: Apr 11, 2020
  2. KnightsFan

KnightsFan

Thanks for the recommendation! I think even Audacity would be perfectly fine for the sounds I've made for this game, the problem is Reaper is just too easy to use :). But I always like trying new software.

Thanks also for the feedback! Next on the list is AI improvements, while continuing to flesh out the story on paper. These demo levels helped solidify the scope I can achieve, and show which mechanics simply did not work. Graphics probably won't be improved much. I'm not a great artist, so it would be a very high time cost without no benefit to core functionality. At some point I'll unlock higher resolutions (it's 720p right now), since that's mainly a question of setting up the UI to scale properly.