Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

TextMesh Pro TMPro update to 2.1.5 causes 'RuntimePlatform' does not contain a definition for 'PS5'

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by Peter77, Apr 17, 2021.

  1. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    5,603
    I use Unity 2019.4.20f1 and updated TMPro from 2.1.4 to 2.1.5 through the Package Manager.

    After the update was complete, Unity printed the following errors to the Console window:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Library\PackageCache\com.unity.textmeshpro@2.1.5\Scripts\Runtime\TMP_InputField.cs(431,42): error CS0117: 'RuntimePlatform' does not contain a definition for 'PS5'
    2. Library\PackageCache\com.unity.textmeshpro@2.1.5\Scripts\Runtime\TMP_InputField.cs(455,42): error CS0117: 'RuntimePlatform' does not contain a definition for 'PS5'
    3. Library\PackageCache\com.unity.textmeshpro@2.1.5\Scripts\Runtime\TMP_InputField.cs(482,38): error CS0117: 'RuntimePlatform' does not contain a definition for 'PS5'
    This error caused Unity to reimport all assets in the project when I restarted the editor to check if a restart "fixes" the errors (as with so many other Unity errors). However, I terminated the Unity process when I saw Unity is going to reimport everything and changed back to 2.1.4 in packages.json instead, to avoid the reimport.

    I assume the "'RuntimePlatform' does not contain a definition for 'PS5'" isn't just going away with an editor restart.

    How can I upgrade from 2.1.4 to 2.1.5 using Unity 2019.4.20f1?
     
  2. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    5,603
  3. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    5,673
  4. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    5,603
    Because it requires everybody on the team to update Unity too. It costs time and effort that we need to spend on the project instead. We don't take Unity updates that lightly when it affects a group of people.
     
    robbgray likes this.
  5. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    5,673
    I can certainly understand that. I wasn't sure if there was a technical reason or something like that.
     
  6. robbgray

    robbgray

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    You've written this question in other threads about updating. I just want to confirm that on a large team it's a huge amount of effort coordinating with lots of different people and even after weeks of prep and emails we still gets lots of tickets (mostly artists) blocked because they didn't update or can't figure out how to. On top of remote build machines, managing different branches with different versions, updating documentation, onboard installers etc. There's just a lot of little things that cost and grow as the team gets bigger.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2021
  7. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    5,673
    I will be releasing an update this week to specifically address this issue.
     
unityunity