Search Unity

Question TMP looks the same as normal Unity text (VR)

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by jeppe79, Jun 28, 2020.

  1. jeppe79

    jeppe79

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2019
    Posts:
    74
    Hello,

    This problem is ingame (inside the headset), scene and gameview in the editor looks as expected.
    The TMP (UI) text looks about as blurry as the normal UI Text in VR (Oculus Go (Android))
    I found this problem in my existing project, but decided to debug it and created a new project and simply added a:
    Canvas -> Panel -> TMP and a sibling that is Unity text.
    The result was identical.

    They look almost the same, they are both blurry, but in the Unity text you can make out the poor quality whereas in the TMP it looks smooth, as you'd expect.
    The TMP also is having aliasing problems.
    *Edit* I just checked and the problem is also true for the 3D object version of TMP.

    I have used TMP before, and as far as I can remember they were crystal clear in VR.

    All the scales are uniform across the board, and font sizes are 36.

    I have attached some screenshots of the settings.
    What else information is needed to help me with this?
    (If someone wants to help)

    All the best,
    Jesper
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      344.1 KB
      Views:
      388
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      327.6 KB
      Views:
      377
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      344.8 KB
      Views:
      386
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      343.2 KB
      Views:
      381
    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      346.7 KB
      Views:
      362
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2020
  2. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    6,595
    See the following post related to Anti Aliasing settings on the Camera which can be causing this issue.

    Let me know if the above helps resolve your issue.
     
  3. jeppe79

    jeppe79

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2019
    Posts:
    74
    Hi Stephan, I have looked for the FXAA setting from the link, but I can't seem to find it. (See new screenshots for how my current settings view look)
    According to the documentation they should be in the Quality settings in Unity 5.5 and earlier, but where?

    The settings in the screenshos are the latest tested settings, but they unfortunately made no difference.
     

    Attached Files:

    • b1.jpg
      b1.jpg
      File size:
      318.9 KB
      Views:
      304
    • b2.jpg
      b2.jpg
      File size:
      320.9 KB
      Views:
      307
    • b3.jpg
      b3.jpg
      File size:
      348.7 KB
      Views:
      305
    • b4.jpg
      b4.jpg
      File size:
      353.8 KB
      Views:
      304
  4. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    6,595
    Those settings should be on the camera. It is also possible to add additional FX via post process package.
     
  5. jeppe79

    jeppe79

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2019
    Posts:
    74
    Unfortunately this setting is not available on the OVRCameraRig camera (as far as I can tell).
    See new screenshots.

    Since the FXAA should be disabled, do I really need to install the asset that adds it?
     

    Attached Files:

    • c1.jpg
      c1.jpg
      File size:
      88.1 KB
      Views:
      320
    • c2.jpg
      c2.jpg
      File size:
      95.5 KB
      Views:
      318