Search Unity

Tire wobbles and bounces, any way to smooth it out?

Discussion in 'Physics' started by BongMcPuffin, Oct 29, 2017.

1. BongMcPuffin

BongMcPuffin

Hi there, I'm completely new to coding/game design in general, and I'm just messing around trying to get what I thought was a pretty simple project completed and its turning out to be a nightmare to figure out.

So my project is to get a tire to roll smoothly across the ground using AddForce, using an orbit camera to dictate the direction of the added force to make "forward" always the camera's forward. I've gotten all the basic functionality implemented but my issue is that when I roll the tire it starts to wobble and if I apply a physics material to make it bouncy it bounces as it rolls due to the faceted nature of the mesh collider I'm using.

I've tested out things with a sphere collider and it rolls perfectly smooth with that, so I know what I'm running into is a collider issue. I can't use a sphere, box, or capsule collider for this, at least as far as I've been able to see. If I try to smash the capsule together to form a cylinder it just makes a sphere instead, and after reading into it some, it appears that making a cylinder collider is apparently as difficult as dividing by zero and accurately predicting tomorrows lotto numbers.

The wheel collider sounds exactly like what I need, but it doesn't behave anything like how I thought it would, and apparently you need 4 of them for it to work correctly (I could be wrong about this, please correct me if I'm wrong).

I bought the asset "ExtendedColliders3D" because it has a cylinder collider function, but that didn't help at all and still gave the exact same problems, even if I turned the triangle count on the mesh up super high to make it as smooth as possible.