Search Unity

Tips for newbies in multiplayer 2020-May

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Lupiyo_Devops, May 21, 2020.

1. Lupiyo_Devops

Lupiyo_Devops

Hello everyone!

I read some posts here and i´m totally lost. I saw a tutorial on internet saying to use the multiplayer service which is inside unity, or anothers saying to use Photon. I researched a little about them and discovered that o unity will be no longer be used, but on my point of view it was the easier method i saw.

Do you guys have any site with an updated tutorial on how to start from zero, having in mind all this changes, please?

As im a indie developer, i don´t have a great bugdet to spend on servers, it is just a hobby and i want to understand how to build it, like a MMO, but with restrictions of course.

Thank you!!!

MursaatAD likes this.
  2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

A tutorial would have to be specific to the networking API you choose. There is currently no fully supported networking API included with Unity (Unet is deprecated, and the next networking solution is in alpha stage). There are plenty of 3rd party API's to choose from.

For an MMO though you may want to create your own networking to fix the requirements, but there are assets on the store, like uMMORPG which uses Mirror, which can help you get one up and going relatively easily.

Lupiyo_Devops likes this.
  3. Lupiyo_Devops

Lupiyo_Devops

Hi Joe, thank you for the answer! Do you know any youtube video that show/explain how can i create a network, please? It sounds not so easy now, but probably with patience i can cover it.

Maybe a hosted game like Diablo style should be enough, there is no need to be a massive multiplayer, but play along with a friend is enough, in Android.

The network layer is different from Computer and Android?

Thanks!

4. tobiass

tobiass

A Diablo style game is very different from MMO and much easier to realize.