Search Unity

Tips for an absolute beginner

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SensitiveLungs, Sep 10, 2019.

1. SensitiveLungs

SensitiveLungs

I'm a teen who is starting from absolute scratch on all sides of the developing spectrum. Any beginner tips you guys would not mind sharing would be an amazing help.

2. pk_Holzbaum

pk_Holzbaum

The following tips may seem a little snarky, but are meant quite seriously:

1. Learn to use the learn section. https://unity.com/learn
    2. Learn to use the search function for the forums. I'm pretty sure there have already been threads with tips.
    3. Learn to be specific. Don't ask for general help, ask for specific help. Right now I know you are a Unity beginner, but I have no idea if you know how to code, model or anything. I don't even know what you want to achieve, how am I supposed to help you?
    4. Learn to help yourself. There is no shame in asking for help and there are many helpful people on the forums. But if you ever want to get anything done try to solve problems yourself before asking.
    5. If you still have a coding problem you can get help in the scripting section. But remember to use code tags: https://forum.unity.com/threads/using-code-tags-properly.143875/
    6. (Game)development takes time. If you want to get anywhere, you are in for the long run.
    7. You won't get rich. You probably won't even make any money.

If you follow these general guidelines you will have a great time.

3. xVergilx

xVergilx

8. Run while you can.

No kidding, game dev is pretty much gambling. Addictive and sometimes makes you broke.

4. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

First, You need to have the patience of a tree. Go look at any tree. Every single day, it looks the same. But it's growing. It's been growing for a long time, and now it's a big-ass tree.