Search Unity

Tips for a starter?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Artasdmc, Feb 16, 2015.

1. Artasdmc

Artasdmc

Howdy.

So I just installed Unity and I want to learn, I want to create a game.
    I'm very very new to anything related to game development. I have no Idea how to create 3D models, I downloaded Blender but it's like sorcery. I have no Idea what I'm doing even with tutorials. Same goes with unity, everything is very confusing.
    But the main and most confusing thing for me is coding, how do I learn to code, how do I know what individual word in code does? Like seeing in tutorials how you add force to objects and such, but the code has nothing related to force or anything, it's completely different words.
    We had no coding lessons in high school, it was just basics of using MC office sadly.

So main thing that I want is tips, how do I start learning everything efficiently? How do I keep going forward without getting depressed and turning everything off? I also have a memory of a 6 year old so I need to repeat the same thing couple of times before I get it.

2. OboShape

OboShape

just to start off, these are just my opinions on how I started out here, when i knew that I wanted to make something, but didnt know where the heck to look... these are the ramblings of a fellow unity student......

unfortunately there's no magic wand, and the matrix is still at the prototype stage in the shed....

but, take a breath.. then look at the learn section here...
    http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/modules

what you will find there is a list of projects to work through which are recorded in video episodes, there are also tutorial videos that are broken down into 'topics'.

Since you are here, i presume you want to make something within Unity.