Search Unity

Timeline Playable Behaviour Callbacks

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by lingumigeorge, Sep 4, 2018.

1. lingumigeorge

lingumigeorge

Hi,

I was wondering what the expected behaviour of the PlayableBehaviour callbacks are e.g. `OnBehaviourPlay`. This is especially confusing with the handling of both Edit-time/Run-time.

I'm new to Timeline and the PlayableGraph, so at the moment the problem I'm coming up against is when calling `PlayableDirector.Pause`/`PlayableDirector.Resume`.

Essentially, I would like to be able to differentiate between when a Playable is paused because it's finished playing and when it's paused because the PlayableDirector is paused. Is there a way to do that?

My current hack is to:

1. On Play/First Frame, save the director's current time
    2. On Pause, see if the clip is over by assessing the `startTime` + `playable.GetDuration()` > `time`

There is also the mysterious `IsDone()` flag which seems to never get set (in my brief testing).

In general it would be great to get a rundown of when:

- `OnBehaviourPause`
    - `OnBehaviourPlay`
    - `OnProcessFrame`
    - `OnGraphStart`
    - `OnGraphStop`

[reliably] get called, and in which order. I noticed `OnGraphStop` gets called when the director pauses, and `OnBehaviourPause` seems to get called when the scene loads (although I haven't fully tested/isolated that to confirm).

Apologies if these are basic questions, this is my first experience with Timeline and am looking to see how to fit it into our current workflow.

Thanks!

a_20200529 likes this.
  2. lingumigeorge

lingumigeorge

After playing around with it a bit more I think I have "working" solution which is to use the director's play state. So, if `OnBehaviourPause` is called, then:

- if the director is paused, it means pause
    - if the director is playing, it means over

I haven't tested this thoroughly for it to be reliable, but logically (assuming the definition of `OnBehaviourPause`) it would seem to work.