Search Unity

  1. New Unity Live Help updates. Check them out here!

    Dismiss Notice

Timeline in timeline?

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by Krajca, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. Krajca

    Krajca

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    Hi, can I somehow use timeline in other timeline? I want to create a "master" timeline that play cuts/scenes timelines. It will be more cleaner and efficient this way i.e. fast change of scenes/cuts with position of all animation behind it.
     
  2. seant_unity

    seant_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    1,194
    Check out the control track. It lets one timeline control another (via the playable director). 2018.2 even lets you 'dig' in to the nested timeline, but still be in preview the master.

    More information available here.
     
  3. Krajca

    Krajca

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    Thanks! Is 2018.2 stable enough to make i.e. trailer on in?
     
  4. seant_unity

    seant_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    1,194
    I believe so. It's still a beta so there are still fixes pending, but I haven't heard of anything that would prevent you from doing a trailer.
     
    Krajca likes this.
  5. CodeFighter

    CodeFighter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Posts:
    63
    I found the problem in nested timelines.

    I have Main timeline and nested timeline inside of Main
    Nested timeline should be looped.
    So loop of nested timeline working only if:
    1. Main timeline Wrap mode is NONE
    2. Control track of Nested timeline in Main timeline should have Control Activation enabled.

    I hope these limitations will be fixed. Thank you!
     
unityunity