Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Timeline controlling Lipsync?

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by Cloud-Ninja, Apr 24, 2018.

  1. Cloud-Ninja

    Cloud-Ninja

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    Is there a way and tutorial on how to use Timeline for controlling dialogue that is lip-synced to a character?
    e.g. I want to drop various audio clips on the timeline and have those clips automagically lip-synced to the character the same way I can have a character be animated by using the timeline.

    thoughts?

    with appreciation,
    .cn
     
  2. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    There's a plugin on the store that does lipsync. I do not report the name because it's not free...(there's a lite version though). I tell you this becase I made a custom playble asset that trigger the lipsync animation based on such plugins.
     
  3. Cloud-Ninja

    Cloud-Ninja

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    There's plugin that will work with Unity's Timeline tool? I know of Salsa as a Unity plugin for lip-syncing but I'm not seeing how it would work with Timeline. Could you please post or PM me the link?
     
  4. Cloud-Ninja

    Cloud-Ninja

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    @elettrozero - thank you.
    I'm still looking for guidance on how to do LipSyncing while using Unity's Timeline tool...
    Any guidance would be appreciated.
    thanks,
    -cn
     
  5. KoFree

    KoFree

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    Did you find a way to do Dialogue (multi audio clips) in Timeline?

    It appears that Lipsync Pro does not do more that one clip per character. it has a Sequencer plug-in for "Cinema Director" and "Slate" but does not yet have one for Cinemachine.

    Did you find a way around this?
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2018
  6. MadeFromPolygons

    MadeFromPolygons

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Posts:
    4,005
    you could write a playable asset that controls blend shapes on your chars face?
     
  7. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    You should set one instance of LipSync for each character - it's necessary becase you'll bind a blendshape system and an audio source for each one - than you can call the play event in timeline for each component whenever you want.
     
    jeromeWork likes this.
  8. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    Last edited: May 31, 2018
  9. FiveFingerStudios

    FiveFingerStudios

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Posts:
    510
    Salsa actually has a Timeline playable as well...
     
  10. gamegirl1984

    gamegirl1984

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    102
    How can i get this working with Salsa? I just started using cinemachine and have Salsa.
     
  11. gamegirl1984

    gamegirl1984

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    102
  12. ben_unity723

    ben_unity723

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Posts:
    3
  13. GSanLob

    GSanLob

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Posts:
    14
    I've been using Oculus lip sync to do just that and that's been working pretty well. It's available for free via the Oculus integration asset on the asset store. Once everything is set up with the asset and Audiosource is bound to the track, I just put in an audioclip and it lipsyncs during play mode. I've also added [ExecuteInEditMode] to the oculus code and it works in the editor.
     
    jampahom likes this.
  14. EricHFrazer

    EricHFrazer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Posts:
    20
    they won't compile as-is, but they sort of point the path...
     

    Attached Files: