Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

TimeLine 2019.3b2 wont record animation

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by BATTLEKOT, Sep 8, 2019.

  1. BATTLEKOT

    BATTLEKOT

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Posts:
    178
    When I want to press button Record for change camera position - I get this strange error.
    HDRP 6.9.1 Unity 2019.3.0b2 Timeline 1.2.2
    upload_2019-9-9_0-6-8.png
     
    DChap_Salty likes this.
  2. seant_unity

    seant_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    1,516
    Closing the timeline window and reopening should work as a temporary workaround, but we'll hopefully have a fix for that soon.
     
    BATTLEKOT likes this.
  3. BATTLEKOT

    BATTLEKOT

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Posts:
    178
    not working. also same problem on Unity2019.2.4f1 =(
    upload_2019-9-14_20-23-51.png
     
  4. BATTLEKOT

    BATTLEKOT

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Posts:
    178
    upload_2019-9-23_13-43-35.png
    I got that errors on 2019.2.6f1 too
     
  5. seant_unity

    seant_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    1,516
    There is a fix pending for this issue.
     
  6. BATTLEKOT

    BATTLEKOT

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Posts:
    178
    Any news about fix? Its still happening in Unity 2019.3b6
    upload_2019-10-8_15-53-17.png
     
  7. BATTLEKOT

    BATTLEKOT

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Posts:
    178
  8. julienb

    julienb

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Posts:
    172
  9. clyburnw

    clyburnw

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    The ticket is closed as not reproducible. It is still an issue in 2019.4.10f1 . This is a deal-breaker for us as we are blocked because of it for far too long.
     
  10. yanghai

    yanghai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    We are re-investigating this, but still unable to reproduce the original issue. If you have any additional information that could help us reproduce this issue consistently, please let us know.

    We suspect this has to do with a corruption in a local Unity layout, but cannot be sure unless we reproduce this consistently.

    If someone still experiencing this issue could send us his problematic layout file (in AppData\Roaming\Unity\Editor-5.x\Preferences\Layouts ) and also confirm that completely deleting and re-creating a new layout does not fix this issue, that would be helpful. Please include Unity and Timeline versions. Thank you!
     
  11. Meheraj7

    Meheraj7

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Posts:
    81
    Facing the issue after I opened a project(made with unity 2019.4.10f1) with a newer version(Unity 2019.4.12f1)

    Work around change Editor Layout to one of the default options
     
  12. GrbJR

    GrbJR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    After I upgraded my project to Unity 2019.4.12f1, the editor has been throwing a null reference exception after hitting the record button on an animation. I can still record movement but everything I have done is relatively simple.

    To test this out I created a new project with a simple animation and it threw the same exception in 4.12f1.

    Just upgraded to 4.13f1 a few hours ago and the exception is still thrown in my project. I started a new project with a simple animation and it did not throw it. Hope this helps.

    p.s. I am also getting a message that, "the editor layout could not be fully loaded..." I am also using the new input system if that changes anything.
     
  13. seant_unity

    seant_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    1,516
    @GrbJR - does resetting your layout to a default option fix the issue?
     
  14. dinthebox

    dinthebox

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    ericbing and seant_unity like this.
  15. yoavhortman

    yoavhortman

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Still an issue on 2019.4.14f1 - choosing a different layout fixed the issue
     
  16. seant_unity

    seant_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    1,516
    The fix has landed in Unity 2019.4.15f1.
     
    Cover-Club-Media likes this.
  17. TheHemohscinProject

    TheHemohscinProject

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    if only that actually worked