Search Unity

Time for a unity programmer to program a small 2D RPG

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Shaker81, Dec 3, 2020.

1. Shaker81

Shaker81

Hi everyone,

I may soon have a game design project in Europe. It should be a kind of small 2D Management game with RPG elements.
    It should contain approximatively 10-15 scenes for 10 -15 levels with sizes like the ones in Hot Line Miami.
    And another 10 scenes for 10 mini-games/capabilities (e.g. car races, investigation with images) incorporated within the levels.

I should be my first project as a game designer. I just started learning Unity so I know I won't be able to code the project myself. But I ask myself if someone knows how much time and money would need a Unity programmer for discussing/adapting the Game Design Document I provide and also for developping the game.

Any help would be welcome :)

2. oldhighscore

oldhighscore

The best answer to this question will come after you have gone through the process once and you can reflect on past experiences.

It's also near impossible to estimate something without concrete requirements. At the moment you have a vague idea of the structure of assets, but that does not take into account the vast amount of other complexities you will encounter during your project.

There is also the consideration that depending on who the person is performing the work dictates both the quality and duration of work, in addition to how the overall team works together and adapts as progress is or is not made.

Start with trying to get one scene/level prototyped out and use that as a baseline for how future levels will go.

3. mgear

mgear

hard to say anything exact..

you can hire someone from fiverr for few dollars, or some dedicated expert to create fine tuned masterpiece in 3-12 months time.. all depends.. and needs art, sounds (can be from low quality to AAA quality)

Could also create the game within a week, game jam style, quick n dirty..