Search Unity

  1. How can our website serve you better? Give us your feedback. Take our survey and let us know.
    Dismiss Notice

Tiling issue only on someone else´s machine

Discussion in '2D' started by CineTek, Jun 22, 2015.

  1. CineTek

    CineTek

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Hey,

    I have a really weird problem right now. My 2D tile based game runs perfectly fine on my PC but when someone else runs the build on either a PC or Mac then there are thin blick lines visible between the tiles. I made sure that I follow all the instructions from this thread http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/tile-map-tearing-problems.225777/#post-1507246 and that my quality settings do not mess with my sprites (AA and Texture Filtering are off).

    The thing is: The build runs perfectly fine across all resolutions and screen sizes on my PC. So I have no idea what is going on...

    When I was experimenting with a multiplayer project using UNET I noticed that after building and sending the game to a friend, the UID vanished... Could it be that in the recent Unity versions the editor somehow messes up the project settings? (http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/cant-use-matchmaker-on-different-computer.334004/)

    My PC: Win 8.1 64 bit
    Unity v 5.1f1
     
  2. sluice

    sluice

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Posts:
    416
    Are you sure you have PixelSnap checked?
     
    CineTek likes this.
  3. CineTek

    CineTek

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    It tuns out that indeed PixelSnap was not checked on the level tiles and that fixed the problem apparently.

    But: Why did it work perfectly fine on my end while everyone else had this problem even though the resolution, screen size etc were the same?
     
  4. sluice

    sluice

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Posts:
    416
    I'm not sure.. but I quickly learned when tilling stuff, that pixel snap is a must. :)
     
    theANMATOR2b likes this.
  5. CineTek

    CineTek

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    I have talked to a Unity technician about this and he also couldn´t reproduce the problem :/ But atleast it works now, so thank you for that hint :)
     
unityunity