Search Unity

TileMap Production Release

Discussion in '2D Experimental Preview' started by DougParker1992, Jul 31, 2016.

  1. DougParker1992

    DougParker1992

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Posts:
    17
    Is there any eta for a production ready release? Alpha is fine and bugs are expected, but I want to ensure the TileMap Editor is compatible with future versions.

    I plan to start a big project soon and wanted to opt in with Unity. I don't mind waiting but I need an eta.

    Nothing worse than waiting 1 year only to find out it's still not near release.
     
    QuaintShanty likes this.
  2. QuaintShanty

    QuaintShanty

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    I am also in the same situation. I am currently doing a large project and would like to utilize the 2D editor in a state that I know will work when future updates come. I saw that Unity 5.4 was just released a few days ago. I hope that 5.5 beta is coming soon and that TileMap will be included in it this time. My project depends on it.
     
  3. Johaness_Reuben

    Johaness_Reuben

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Posts:
    253
    We're currently looking at two more iterations of Previews before locking it in for a production ready release. This will not only provide more honed feature but a stable release as well.
    I will be updating with some etas' soon.:)
     
  4. DougParker1992

    DougParker1992

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Posts:
    17
    Awesome! Thank you very much for the reply!
     
  5. Camsedin

    Camsedin

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    good to hear. been waiting for these kind of features for a long time :)
    preview 1 seems pretty solid. not ran into any big problems so far.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2016
  6. Xelnath

    Xelnath

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Posts:
    259
    Any ETA on the ETA?

    Hahah :D
     
  7. danbrani

    danbrani

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    I've switched to the new tilemap for my project and I must say I didn't have almost any problems at all so far, I'm generating the map procedurally so I didn't need to use all the features, but everything I needed was there, and the new tilemaps are so much more flexible than the ones I used so far (coming with the 2dtoolkit plugin). The performance is solid as well, which I'm really happy about, great job team!

    The biggest problem for me is for some reason my game doesn't build properly with the experimental preview version of unity, in editor it works fine, but there are a lot of weird errors when running a build, which don't happen with the 5.3 which I'm currently using.

    Hoping for a quick release of this feature!
     
  8. DougParker1992

    DougParker1992

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Posts:
    17
    Just be aware that it isn't stable for production. It is possible that everything you work on in your project could potentially break as new versions are released.

    That's why I want the new 2D features made stable.
     
  9. ColossalPaul

    ColossalPaul

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Posts:
    169
    Could you share with us some details?
     
  10. danbrani

    danbrani

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Of course, here's the log: http://pastebin.com/rWpg5deJ

    Other than that, when I try to debug the player, almost right away I get a weird behaviour where a called function has paramaters different than what the caller has passed.

    I made a project which displays the weird behaviour. The issue shows up in a different circumstances though.

    Running in editor - works fine
    Debugging script in the edtior - doesn't work
    Running the build - works fine
    Debugging the script in the build - works fine

    So if the stars align, if you step through the code in the editor you should see the corrupted parameters and an exception thrown out.

    "Repro" project: https://www.dropbox.com/s/n75tsdwnh1b1i0h/5.5.0a6_bug.zip?dl=0

    I'm not sure if this is the cause of the errors in the original project, where the errors appear only in the build.

    As I said before, the project builds and works fine on 5.3.4.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. AssembledVS

    AssembledVS

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Posts:
    229
    Do you think that the production ready release will be ready before the end of the year? The Unity Roadmap makes it sound like it is a long way off.
     
  12. Jay-Pavlina

    Jay-Pavlina

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Posts:
    195
    One of the errors you're getting I've had previously and was able to solve:
    For me, it happened when I tried to serialize a Vector2Int, so just serialize a Vector2 and convert it to Vector2Int later, if that's what you're doing.

    You also have a serialization error, which is probably caused by serializing a field in a UNITY_EDITOR #ifdef section.
     
    Johaness_Reuben and danbrani like this.
  13. danbrani

    danbrani

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    You nailed it! It was Vector2Int not being serializable, would probably never thought of that, thanks!

    The serialization errors were also caused by the Vector2Ints existing in my ScriptableObjects and more.
     
  14. Jay-Pavlina

    Jay-Pavlina

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Posts:
    195
    Glad it helped. It took me a long time to realize that was causing the error.
     
  15. malcneuro

    malcneuro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    I was curious about this, the roadmap is a bit pessimistic, but the Unite videos, etc. seem a lot more positive.

    Really, that ETA would be cool. Really, it´s just if I buy an asset from the asset store, or trust that the out-of-the-box experience will be stable in the foreseeable future.
     
unityunity