Search Unity

Question Tile Palette not Painting

Discussion in '2D' started by SaltChaos, Sep 3, 2022.

1. SaltChaos

SaltChaos

Hi there, I'm a complete newbie with Unity and just trying to get a Tilemap and a Tile Palette working. I've follow a tutorial, (that maybe a little old, but 2020 version should'nt be that old) https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/Tilemap-workflow.html is the said "tutorial".
    My problem is I cannot paint with the Tile Palette on the Tilemap, and I've seen the problem is recurrent, with multiples solutions :
    Sometimes missing the Tilemap : I've got it, for sure in the Hierarchy tab, with the Grid.
    Sometimes the Tilemap if created before the Tile Palette, the Painting wasn't working, that was my case, and so recreated it. Still got the problem.
    Sometimes the Active Tilemap is absent or not set : It's set on the only Tilemap I've got named basically "Tilemap".
    Sometimes the Edit button making it bugged and so you needed to reselection it and deselect it to get it work, tried, and that didn't resolved the issue.

So I've got no idea about why this is happening, since I'm a newbie, and maybe that a really dumb issue that I've failed to check correctly something. But it seems I cannot find it alone.

Some screen of the default screen : upload_2022-9-3_19-46-18.png
    The Tile Palette (pretty ugly that a placeholder lol) :
    upload_2022-9-3_19-47-59.png
    And the Tilemap properties :
    upload_2022-9-3_19-50-5.png

If any more screen are needed to understand the issue, I guess I can provide them, so tell me.
    And thanks in advance to everyone that'll will help (or try so)

2. DanielTanBK

DanielTanBK

Unity Technologies

Hello, its hard to tell what the issue is just from your screenshots
    If you select a tile in the palette and hover your mouse over the scene tilemap, does the tile preview show up?
    If it does, when clicking in the tilemap scene to paint, does the tile appear?