Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

TickRealtimeProbes() causes GC allocs every frame even with no reflections in game

Discussion in 'Graphics Experimental Previews' started by Nothke, Dec 20, 2018.

  1. Nothke

    Nothke

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Posts:
    112
    I hope this is the right place to post this, since there is no performance forum, and according to the docs this is coming from an experimental graphics feature so...

    upload_2018-12-20_4-22-11.png

    Well, this pic says it all. In 2018.3.0f2 I am getting 17B of GC allocations every frame in a build (and editor) where there are no reflection probes, no GI is turned on, even "real time reflection probes" in quality settings is turned off. I can't seem to eliminate these calls. Tested in a new empty project.

    I'm surprised that it seems no one has noticed it yet, since I can't find anything about it online.

    Edit: I've submitted a bug report, the case number is 1111507
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2018
    FlightOfOne and PieterAlbers like this.
  2. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,620
    I would submit a bug-report and include a project to reproduce the issue, as described in this document:
    https://unity3d.com/unity/qa/bug-reporting

    Submitting a bug-report allows Unity Technologies to take a look at this issue.

    After you submitted the bug-report, you receive a confirmation email with a bug-report Case number. You can post this Case number here (in this forum thread) for Unity staff to pick up, in case they see your post.
     
    Nothke likes this.
  3. Nothke

    Nothke

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Posts:
    112
    Thanks! I did just that, my case number is 1111507
     
    hippocoder, DgoodingIndi and Peter77 like this.
  4. PieterAlbers

    PieterAlbers

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Posts:
    248
    Thanks for this thread and the bug report - it is a relief to see I am not the only one.
     
    Nothke likes this.
  5. PieterAlbers

    PieterAlbers

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Posts:
    248
    @Nothke Did you get any response on your report?
    Thanks in advance for any news you can share

    -Pieter
     
  6. Nothke

    Nothke

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Posts:
    112
    @PieterAlbers Unfortunately no, it's still marked as open :(
     
  7. PieterAlbers

    PieterAlbers

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Posts:
    248
    That's too bad - thanks for the heads up though!
     
  8. Nothke

    Nothke

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Posts:
    112
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
    PieterAlbers likes this.
  9. PieterAlbers

    PieterAlbers

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Posts:
    248
    Ah - that is good news for now!

    Thanks for the heads up! Much appreciated!
     
  10. Dave-Carlile

    Dave-Carlile

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    967
    I'm experiencing this as well. Good to know it's being looked at.
     
  11. Zeeppo-Games

    Zeeppo-Games

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Posts:
    103
    Same here. So, it's a new bug I see
     
    Dave-Carlile likes this.
  12. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,796
    This should be top priority. We are working hard to make sure we have no garbage per frame.

    How is this NOT a regression?

    @richardkettlewell if you wanna prove that regression bugs in the built-in renderer are never acceptable this is one bug that should really be looked at.
     
    Dave-Carlile likes this.
  13. Obsineon

    Obsineon

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    Same issue, using 2018.3.0f2. Even though the 17B GC is not a huge problem, I am hoping that it gets fixed soon.
     
  14. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,796
    2018.2.4f1 was just released, still no fix.

    I mean, we spent so much time trying to avoid any garbage generation, and Unity just goes and generates some every frame for us, for a feature we are not using.

    Surely 3 months are enough to fix this issue.
     
    PieterAlbers likes this.
  15. Gladyon

    Gladyon

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Posts:
    389
    I have the same problem with GC.
    And with .NET 4.x it's becoming even worse as StringBuilder is now generating more GC...
     
  16. PieterAlbers

    PieterAlbers

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Posts:
    248
    I was really hoping this would be fixed in the .4 update - I can't have Unity running around creating garbage like this. I am already creating enough by myself ;)
     
  17. zapposh

    zapposh

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Posts:
    117
    Any news? Same problem here.
     
  18. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    123
    This is marked as "Fixed in Unity 2019.2", but on my tests I still get the 17B every frame.
    There is no link to the mentioned version, and when I search for it, the only available version seems to be 2019.0.a4.
    Maybe I've missed some settings? But with everything disabled that even only looks close to the related reflection stuff and in an empty default scene the 17B are there, every frame.
     
  19. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,796
    It could mean in an upcoming release.
     
  20. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    Could require an HDRP update too.
     
  21. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,796
    How? Why?

    It happens without having HDRP installed.
     
  22. James2Games

    James2Games

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Posts:
    23
    Surely they will include it in 2018.4 as part of LTS as releasing the update on 2019 and not 2018.3 is forcing us to upgrade to 2019.
     
    Nothke likes this.
  23. Nothke

    Nothke

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Posts:
    112
    Now it's marked as "Fixed 2019.1.0b5", seems like they are on the backporting way. I hope it goes down to 2018.3 soon.
     
  24. Nothke

    Nothke

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Posts:
    112
    The day has finally come! Now it's marked as fixed in 2018.3.8f1

    cc @PieterAlbers
     
    PieterAlbers likes this.
  25. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    123
    Tested 2018.3.8f1 and got a little shock, since I got 0.6KB every frame. But this is only because of the known mouse events stuff. Just add a GUI Layer component to the camera (yes it's deprecated) and you can marvel at 0kb :)
     
    Dave-Carlile and Nothke like this.
  26. Dave-Carlile

    Dave-Carlile

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    967
    Tested on 2018.3.9f1 and it appears to be fixed!
     
    zapposh likes this.
  27. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    123
  28. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,796
  29. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    123
    You say it. Currently I have a little zoo of 9 different unity versions. And 3 of them are needed to work, because of the dependencies of some assets. For a longer time I've been happy even with an alpha version, because it didn't produce garbage in an empty scene and I've accepted to export parts of the project forth and back between the other versions to get the things done. This is exasperating.
     
  30. SniperED007

    SniperED007

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Posts:
    345
    I'm getting this on Unity 2019.3.15f1 (HDRP): I don't have any reflection probes, has this been re-introduced, or is just a cost of using the HDRP.

    upload_2020-6-1_11-29-21.png
     
    FlightOfOne likes this.
  31. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    668
    Were you able to figure this out?
    I am having the same problem on 2019.4.1f1 HDRP
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
  32. SniperED007

    SniperED007

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Posts:
    345
    No.
     
  33. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    668
    I opened a bug report couple of days ago.
     
  34. ASGS_DumbFox

    ASGS_DumbFox

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Posts:
    22
    Any update on that ticket? This forum goes silent but I'm seeing this issue still in 2019.4 (SRP)
     
  35. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    668
    I am thought they fixed it, I remember seeing something, but I gave up on HDRP for now and started using URP.