Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Throwing Object Issue Oculus

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by Mossimo, Feb 11, 2018.

1. Mossimo

Mossimo

Hi friends,

So it's been a while since I've used Unity and I'm completely new to working with the Oculus Rift and Touch Controllers. I figured I would start out with some basic grabbing and throwing so I found and used these tutorials from Ben Roberts.

Everything was working fine until I introduced some code for rotating the player and now this happens after I rotate the player controller and throw an object.

Basically, when the scene starts I can throw my object around the scene without issue but when I rotate my character and pick up the same object and throw it the object will fly in the forward direction correlating to my original position/rotation and not the forward direction of my current position/rotation.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Drop/Throw Code:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. void DropObject() {
    2.     grabbing = false;
    4.     if (grabbedObject != null) {
    5.         grabbedObject.transform.parent = null;
    6.         grabbedObject.GetComponent<Rigidbody>().isKinematic = false;
    7.         grabbedObject.GetComponent<Rigidbody>().velocity = OVRInput.GetLocalControllerVelocity(touchController) * speed;
    8.         grabbedObject.GetComponent<Rigidbody>().angularVelocity = OVRInput.GetLocalControllerAngularVelocity(touchController);
    9.         grabbedObject.GetComponent<Rigidbody>().maxAngularVelocity = grabbedObject.GetComponent<Rigidbody>().angularVelocity.magnitude;
    11.         grabbedObject = null;
    12.     }
    13. }

2. Johnny_Jr

Johnny_Jr