Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Assets Third Person Templates by Invector

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by Invector, Aug 20, 2015.

  1. StevanJay

    StevanJay

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Posts:
    79
    I'm experience something very similar, jittery movement as soon as the player is on terrain that is not completely flat. I'm using the most recent version (melee templaye 2.5.0). Same in both editor and build.

    Any other suggestions what I might try to smooth it out?
     
  2. MagiSoftworks

    MagiSoftworks

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Posts:
    121
    If you put a vHealthController to your object, you can apply the damage and receive the information of the damage.sender to know who send the damage[/QUOTE]

    Thanks!
     
  3. churtis

    churtis

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    will the new inventory have sound effects for when clicking on slots and equipping items?
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2020
  4. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    928
    In my tests using the default settings but lowering the GroundMinDistance to 0.1f is pretty smooth, let me know your results.. also, if you want you can send me your project with your scene (just the terrain and the necessary assets to perform the issue) so I can take a look > inv3ctor@gmail.com

    Sure, you can easily do that using the Events via inspector ;)
     
  5. StevanJay

    StevanJay

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Posts:
    79
    Thanks for the reply... :) Reducing the GroundMinDistance has helped a little, and the more I play around the more I find other little ways to make things smoother (both tweaking the camera and controller parameters, and tweaking the terrain itself where it's most problematic) - end result is looking much better already.

    I have another question though. I want to try a different camera - in a previous post I saw you said that it should just be plug and play, with no other changes necessary. But as soon as I attach another camera the character no longer rotates. Movement is all fine, movement direction changes, but the model itself is always facing the same way. Any idea what might be going on?
     
  6. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    928
    Check this post:
    https://invector.proboards.com/thread/3231/character-moves-forward-rotate-solved
     
    StevanJay likes this.
  7. StevanJay

    StevanJay

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Posts:
    79
  8. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    928
  9. Empereur7

    Empereur7

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Posts:
    62
    hello, excuse me I don't really know what value to increase in the vMelee attack Control script or what parameters to arrange so that my EnemyAI also plays its second animation, in fact I need it to do a complete sequence, my EnemyAi attack with a blow a blow and do not go to the next animation, thank you help me please
     
  10. GWStudio

    GWStudio

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Posts:
    109
    Hi..
    What about weapons customization system just like escape from tarkov i.e add scope or use larger magazine ...
     
  11. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    928
    Here is a Preview from the next update: Mobile Controls Improved



    Also improved is the Component Check if Item is Equipped


    We can now filter the ItemType, so for example: if a Melee ItemtType is equipped you can enable a Melee UI Button, if a shooter is equipped, disable the melee and enable a shooter UI button.


     
    julianr and sjm-tech like this.
  12. Nitrox32

    Nitrox32

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Posts:
    136
    Any reason why my inventory is showing two items for every one I pick up?
     
  13. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    928
    The new Mobile update is looking GOOOD you guys! (coming very soon!)

    We've managed to secure 60 frames per second on a very low budget and old Android device with 6 AI's in the scene (using the simple AI which is not as optimized as the FSM AI)

    - You can swap UI Buttons using the vCheckItemIsEquipped (if a melee weapon is equipped, disable the shot, reload and scope buttons)
    - Improved CameraMovement (better aim and movement in general)
    - Add support to the new Inventory Layout
    - Add support to shot and aim at the same time using the same button
    - Updated all mobile prefabs (collectibles, UI, controllers, aimCanvas, etc...)
    - New demo scenes optimized with baked lightmaps

     
    Malbers, sjm-tech and Hawk0077 like this.
  14. wood333

    wood333

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Posts:
    696
    How do I determine what version of TPC shooter is in my project?

    and

    What is the recommended update procedure?
     
  15. rasto61

    rasto61

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Posts:
    334
    You can check the readme if you havent deleted it. It has the changelog with the version number.
    Or do 'Invector>Welcome Window' (that also shows the version, but not sure if older versions of invector displayed that there)
    And usually best to delete the whole Invector folder and import the new version.
     
    wood333 likes this.
  16. MrZeker

    MrZeker

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Posts:
    160
    Is there any way to make the camera move with keys? (like displace the camera top, down , left, right, but always looking at the player)
     
  17. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    928
    Check this post to know how to correctly import/update your template:
    https://invector.proboards.com/thread/2896/guideline-import-update-invector-assets

    You could create a simple script that access the tpCamera and modify the offsets value via input
     
  18. wood333

    wood333

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Posts:
    696
    I recently upgraded my project to 2018.4.22, but I now see the Shooter requiring 2018.4.23. Can I use the latest Shooter and AI templates with .22 or must I upgrade my project to .23 ?

    EDIT: While awaiting your response, I updated from 2018.4.22 to 2018.4.25, and everything in my project seems to be functioning as expected, which includes an older shooter version, which I will upgrade next week, along with the ai template.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2020
  19. Zoryth

    Zoryth

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    59
    I always use latest unity version in all my projects. Just saying :)
     
  20. wood333

    wood333

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Posts:
    696
    I have over 50 developer assets (one deprecated) in my project that support various Unity versions, and I must keep them all functioning properly. I do not have the luxury to keep up with the "latest unity version." Moving the project up can be very painful.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  21. wood333

    wood333

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Posts:
    696
    Unity 2018.4.25 and current version shooter (upon upgrade)

    On import I have 48 errors along the lines of

    'interpolated strings' cannot be used because it is not part of the C# 4.0 language specification. also
    'null propagating operator' cannot be used because it is not part of the C# 4.0 language specification. and
    'expression bodied members' cannot be used because it is not part of the C# 4.0 language specification.

    ADDITIONAL INFO

    This is a Unity issue, but I need your help to get around it. I cannot use the 4.0 scripting runtime without getting the unsolved blank errors issue. I must use 3.5 runtime for my project to run. It is not related to installed assets, it's a Unity editor issue that can be researched, but has no proven solution. If I convert my project to 4.0, the TPC script errors go away, but my project will not run due to the blank errors Unity throws.

    The scripts that throw errors are:
    vGenericAction.cs 19 errors
    vThirdPersonMotor.cs 1 error
    vRagdoll.cs 2 errors
    vEquipItemToArea.cs 1 error
    vInventoryDisplayformat.cs 2 errors
    vItemManager.cs 21 errors
    vItemWindow.cs 2 errors

    Can you recommend a solution other than rolling back to a version of Shooter that does not contain scripts that use C# 6 expressions?

    When did TPC scripts begin to use C# 6 expressions?
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2020
  22. Razputin

    Razputin

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Posts:
    215
    How can I stop input movement during root motion animations?

    I've tried setting things like lockmovemet = true in the controller and lockInput = true , but these don't work (probably wrong bools).
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2020
  23. MrZeker

    MrZeker

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Posts:
    160
    Im not the dev, but i know the answer. Check the animator, (use the base animator controller as a reference)
    There is a "V animatorTag" that you have to add to the attacks, when you add that one of the options is LockMovement (you have to add that and write it).
    That should do the trick. There is also LockRotation.
     
  24. matzomat

    matzomat

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    Hey Guys,

    maybe you can help me. I just started working with the Third Person Templates (Melee) and I've got the problem that it doesn't work on Android builds at all. I already posted in their forums but never got a reply so I'm posting here too.

    Original post: https://invector.proboards.com/thread/3753/error-android-project-2020-2f1

    Any ideas appreciated.
     
  25. Razputin

    Razputin

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Posts:
    215
    Appreciate you trying to help but not sure what you mean by "There is a "V animatorTag" that you have to add to the attacks"
     
  26. matzomat

    matzomat

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    I received an answer in the Invector Forums:
     
  27. rasto61

    rasto61

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Posts:
    334
    You need to add the vAnimatorTag script with the appropriate tags ('LockMovement') to the animation state in the animator.
     
  28. Razputin

    Razputin

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Posts:
    215
    Ah I see, I don't have that script. Maybe doesn't come in the lite version.
     
  29. rasto61

    rasto61

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Posts:
    334
    Aren't you using the melee template?
     
  30. Razputin

    Razputin

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Posts:
    215
    No just the locomotion template.

    I just slapped an attack state on free locomotion and removed strafing.

    aaaaa.png

    bbbbbbbbb.png

    I just need to stop input while IsActing = true; but can't find the bool to stop it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2020
  31. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1,004
  32. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    928
    The vAnimatorTags feature is not included in the Lite version, but basically you just need to stop the character while these animations are playing, you can use Unity animator tags to do it:
    https://answers.unity.com/questions/961497/mecanim-state-tag.html

    We released an update last month so there isn't much but here is the changelog so far:

    Shooter 2.5.4 Hotfix Update xx/xx/2020

    - Add more events to TriggerGeneric Action
    - Add Secondary Ammo display
    - Add Simple trigger with input
    - Improved Joystick Mouse Input on Inventory (now it works only when using inventory)
    - Improved StepOffset detection
    - Fix Simple trigger other detection
    - Fix Roll and Attack triggering in the same time
    - Fix TriggerGenericAction enter and exit events being called more than once
    - Fix Stack Overflow in the Shooter Equipment
     
    Razputin likes this.
  33. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    928
    f1chris likes this.
unityunity