Search Unity

Assets Third Person Templates by Invector

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by Invector, Aug 20, 2015.

  1. Kazuya321

    Kazuya321

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    the script is put in the script folder of my project rename pollu firepro.png
     
  2. Kazuya321

    Kazuya321

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    excuse me,
    The name `other' does not exist in the current context, how to correct
     
  3. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    896
    I'm not sure where did you get this script from, but as you can see it doesn't come with the template... it's probably from an unofficial add-on I guess...
     
  4. Kazuya321

    Kazuya321

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    ok and how do i get to have the official ??
     
  5. mukki014

    mukki014

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Posts:
    102
    Is it possible to add physics to controller using playmaker? For creating abilities like ledge grab or ledge climb ? Thank you
     
  6. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    896
    That's what I'm trying to say to you buddy, we Don't have any script called 'vFireProjectile' in the project, so it's not official... I'm not sure where did you get this script, but it's either from a very old version of the template or a custom add-on you downloaded from the community, you could delete it or try to updated if you're using it.

    The controller already is driven and interact with physics, to create actions such as ledge grab you could use our Generic Action System
     
  7. mukki014

    mukki014

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Posts:
    102
    Thank you. Is it possible to use existing parameters in animator controller for new abilities? I know generic actions work really well. But how do we get more control over animation states. Because every action state transit to free locomotion state.
     
  8. Kazuya321

    Kazuya321

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    if you do not use it and how you can do a projectile for example launch a power without scripting ?? and also how to update it ??
     
  9. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    826
    Not his problem. You can learn to write C#.
     
  10. Kazuya321

    Kazuya321

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    excuse me I use the vThrowObjet script to launch an object with a model that I put on my scene, so I program an animation to the Event with the function "LaunchObject that is in script, when he does this animation he launches the object touch but nothing happens and I have an error message, help me please correct it
    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    Invector.vCharacterController.vThrowObject.LateUpdate () (at Assets/Invector-3rdPersonController/Shooter/Scripts/ThrowSystem/Scripts/vThrowObject.cs:88)
     
  11. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    896
    You can certainly expand the use of the AnimatorController by adding new abilities and manipulating it using the transitions and the existing or new parameters as you normally would do

    I'm sorry @Kazuya321, what exactly you want to do? If you want to throw an object using the ThrowManager, just assign the prefab into the ObjectToThrow field in the inspector.

    To update the template, we recommend deleting the Invector folder and importing the new version.
     
    mukki014 likes this.
  12. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    826
  13. Kazuya321

    Kazuya321

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    I want a model I put on my stage to throw an object, how to do??
     
  14. Kazuya321

    Kazuya321

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    he throws at me
     
  15. Kazuya321

    Kazuya321

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Or is there any way that an enemy throws you an object?
     
  16. MangeyD

    MangeyD

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    74
    hi I am trying to setup a 2.5d controller with Melee but I can't seem to get it to work. Is there a demo scene for this or some help or tutorial someone could point me toward.

    I seem to have it going but it doesn't follow my path now and turn corners so I really hope someone has made a tutorial for this :)


    Ok you can ignore my questions as I loaded the Shooter template and it has a demo that gets me over all my current issues. I didn't want shooting so I just loaded the Melee template initially but now it is all good. :) :)

    thanks
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2019
  17. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    896
    Only the FSM AI Template has a throw behavior, you can check the example in the "FSM_AI_Cover-Throw-Companion" demo scene.

    Next update will bring updated 2.5D demo scenes for all templates (basic, melee & shooter) ;)
     
    GrassWhooper likes this.
  18. GrassWhooper

    GrassWhooper

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Posts:
    46
    Interestig could we get a spoiler on when the next update will be up ? I kind of want to use the asset for my project and i have like started the project like a week ago and i totaly do not want things breaking
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2019
  19. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    826
    It was supposed to be this week. Must have found bugs.
     
  20. indra-p

    indra-p

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Posts:
    28
    Hello.. i want to add animation between idle to walk..and walk to idle..currently the template just using automatic transition..it doesnt look very natural.. will be better it it have animation as transition... anybody could teach me how to do it?
     
  21. indra-p

    indra-p

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Posts:
    28
    anyone? well its looks like its not easy to do it...i tried it myself..no success

    anyway @Invector....is there any plan to add that feature in any future update?... i think most of game on this era have it...
     
  22. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    896
    Well that's actually pretty simple, you just need to remove the Idle from the Walk/Run/Sprint blend and create other states to transition between... just animator skills necessary, you can customize as much as you need as long as you respect the default parameters
     
  23. noobynobody

    noobynobody

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Posts:
    76
    Any recommendations on which vehicle controller to use with Invector?
     
  24. Kazuya321

    Kazuya321

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    ok thanks
     
  25. Kazuya321

    Kazuya321

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Excuse me a concern, I launch power with the animation event, I also show images with the animation event, when my character executes an animation and the images appear on the screen, but now my problem is how I can to do when my character executes an animation the first time the image 1 appears, always with the same point select in the animation event when it executes for a second time the image 2 appears ??
     
  26. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    896
    You could create a simple script to manage your 'images', instead of calling to appear image1 or image2, call the manager that will display the image1 and activated a bool, once activated it will only call the image2 the next time.
     
  27. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    42
    Thx so much for asset, but posting because I'm getting very odd terrain flicking, really bad in some areas, and while I do not get it using the simple mouse smoothing movement script in unity and 'ethan' character rigidbody, I do here using the red high poly invector character . How do I fix this? It seems to be the worst on moving mouse around.
     
  28. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    896
    sjm-tech and Malbers like this.
  29. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    896
    Try our latest release, we created a new ground check and ground snap method, you can see the differences in the changelog link I just post above
     
  30. Malbers

    Malbers

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Posts:
    1,597
  31. Kazuya321

    Kazuya321

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    thank you but I'm going to try to be a little clearer because I did not end up with your method, so I have a picture on my screen of the empty water can and 9 more pictures of the water photos of each step that fill the can that are overplaying, thanks to the animator event when my character runs the animation to pour water, I programmed the 9 images that goes to false at each step like water that decrease in a container but now my problem is that the 9 images do not disappear with a single stroke of animation, I want at least in 2 shots, like when I launch the animation for the first time on the 9 images 4 that disappear and always with the same animation when I run for the second time the other 5 disappear, help me please (give me even an idea, I specify that the 9 images are public GameObject at the launch of the game they are on true and when I run the animation to pour the water they are e n false)
     
  32. Armend

    Armend

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Invector,

    first, thank you very much for this awesome Charactercontroller. It saves hundreds of hours of development and is top notch quality. The Action-System is so nice, it makes the CC universal for everything and easy to expand with other functionalities. Really nicely done.

    Now to my question/problem:
    I am currently implementing your CC with "Realistic Car Controller" from Bonecracker Games. I setup a triggerGenericAction to "Enter the car".

    For that I deactivate the CharacterController and ThirdPersonCam and activate the Car- and its CamController. Then I parent the Car to the Character, so when I get out of the car, the character will be still next to the car. Theoretically it should be done like this (simple, without animations etc.). But when I get into the car, drive around and get out of the car, there happens a flicker on the ThirdPersonCam.

    For 1 Frame, the ThirdPersonCam is still on the position, where I have deactivated it miles away. Then in the 2nd frame it jumps to the actual position of the Character, where it should be.

    (I even tried to do it with one camera only, by enabling and disabling just the different scripts of ThirdPersonCam and CarCam, but the same problem with this one frame occurs)

    Do you maybe know, why this happens? I tried to do it programmatically, but it seems you don't have included the vThirdPersonCamera into the namespace, so I couldn't do a vThirdPersonCamera variable in my c# script. (but well, even then I don't know if I could correct the problem)

    I hope I am not asking for too much.

    Edit: I believe this problem occurs because of an internal position-variable in vThirdPersonCamera, which doesn't get updated, since the script is deactivated. So when I activate it again, the position of the cam gets set to the old position (where it got deactivated) and then moves to the new position where the car and player now are. If I could access this variable via c#, i could (theoretically) set it to the current position, so it get updated correctly)
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2019 at 7:26 AM
  33. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    42
    Sorry I didn't specify, as I'm using Basic Locomotion Lite,did it also get the new version update ?Asking bc url you listed doesn't show any version.

    TY
     
  34. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    896
    That's not really related to the ThirdPerson Templates but a general scripting question, I can't offer support on that you could create a new thread in the Scripting section, but really there are several ways do to this, you could use a int/float value that filled the sprites similar to what we do with the Health bar.

    You could set your CarCamera to render above the ThirdPersonCamera and enable the tpCamera before disabling the carCamera to give it time to update the position, then once you disable the carCamera, the tpCamera will be in the correct position (just an idea)

    Oh sorry, we didn't update the Lite version, and we don't have plans to do right now... all of the third person templates (Basic, Melee and Shooter) are now using the same version 2.5.0
     
  35. neighborlee

    neighborlee

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    42
    Ok thanks,I feared that, but now I mustgo back to the drawing board. Seems dismal . So sad UE4 gives you an incredible 3rd person character right out of the box, and TRY as I have ( and became as the result a better programmer but stiill not enough to do the job ) after a long time tryiing EVERY single video both external and unity internal, that for unity atm anyway, it seems its better we fail than make 'progress ' with at least minimally what UE4 gives us.

    Goes to show you what some engines consider important and what othes would rather you spin your wheels on endlessly. I'm about DONE.On disability income ,sometimes $5,$1 is too much.I'll just have to find another approach.
     
  36. Invector

    Invector

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    896



    Hi guys

    We're making a new showcase with footage of your projects!

    Want to help us and show what you have been working?
    You can upload video footage of your project on youtube or send directly to us at inv3ctor@gmail.com - or via PM

    A few notes, please try to record the footage at good framerate and resolution, we recommend Nvidia Experience if you own an Nvidia Graphics card or FRAPS if you don't.

    Also, it doesn't matter if is just a prototype, college work, tech demo, wip, etc... you just need to show what you did using the template.