Search Unity

Third person cover controller

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by EduardasFunka, May 23, 2017.

  1. f1chris

    f1chris

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Posts:
    270

    For sure, no problem here !!
     
  2. Unplug

    Unplug

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Posts:
    185
    im ok to give you 10$ if it speed things up =)

    hey question to people good with avatar and bone. I'm having such a headache right now. I'm trying to iterate my mesh and character by polishing, adding blendshape, improving clothes etc. I was expecting to easily be able to keep the same avatar and just swap the mesh in the rendermesh component but it doesn't work. Sometimes object spin, sometimes they just disapear, sometimes the polygon are all smashed. It is so annoying and confusing on a good way to iterate without breaking everything each time.

    When i start from scratch with new object, charactermotor complain that either the nexk bone or the head bone doesn't exist despite the animator being setup and the bone really exist in the avatar. Any idea ?

    Is there a way to modify bone lenght inside editor without modifying the mesh (like if you are resetting the bone lenght in a 3d app?)
     
  3. Paul-Swanson

    Paul-Swanson

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    287
    I like this idea. I would absolutely be down for that.
     
  4. p_hergott

    p_hergott

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Posts:
    309
    The ai system would be fine, pending price, the controller idk. Pending price i guess. The systems would need to be modular and easyily addaptive to other coding. Would be pretty poor to have a seperate ai system, that only really functions with your controller. Like opsive, they have a ai system that intergrates perfectly with thier controller, but is really quite compatable with anything. The controller i find to have a number of limitations though. Like dont get me wrong, u guys have done beautiful work. But to seperate the ai and the controller, i think would need some adjustability.
     
  5. shadowlord1

    shadowlord1

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    My concern is:
    I've created a character creation screen with UMA... Where the user can, in runtime, change the avatar height and proportion of any body part. (hands, legs, shoulders, etc.)....

    Will this controller adapt itself on this avatar on which measures were changed in runtime?
    Does anyone here that owns this package have made this test with UMA? I'd like to confirm this before I buy it. Unfortunately, I haven't find any video or post about these two packages together.

    Thank you guys!
     
  6. p_hergott

    p_hergott

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Posts:
    309
    That really shouldnt effect anything, aslong as the avatar is set up correctly to begin with. I dont think ive ever had issues with dynamic characters at runtime. With anything
     
  7. Sarhanbh

    Sarhanbh

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Posts:
    41
    I'm not rushing but I'm just excited :D So I wish it to be as much as aspirations just take your time.

    sure, i have no problem.
    Whether you decide to separate artificial intelligence or add an amount to update.
    For me, In my view, what distinguishes your tool is artificial intelligence ready for use without much customization.
     
  8. shadowlord1

    shadowlord1

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Thank you very much p_hergott!
     
  9. redoxoder

    redoxoder

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Posts:
    67

    yes do it .
     
  10. umair21

    umair21

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Posts:
    86
    $1 is nothing, that's just a very small amount but I think that won't make any sense separating AI from main package because any third Person or First Person packages are of no use if there's no AI included. That's what I think, I might be totally wrong but -1 for separating AI from main package as it could make other problems like updating our previous projects with the new asset version. If separating isn't going to create any implementation problem with our old projects, then +1 for separating AI from main package. :D
     
  11. hope81dklee

    hope81dklee

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Awesome asset!
    By the way, Can you have any plan to integrate it with UMA?
    I have tried to integrate this with UMA. But can't. The UMA throw a error about "add bone recursive"
    I have no idea of integrate this with UMA.
    If you make integration, than it will be very good
     
    shadowlord1 likes this.
  12. Sarhanbh

    Sarhanbh

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Posts:
    41
    **editing, i see your comment in the video, but you can just add a text over the video by youtube itself to tell that for anyone will watch it :) good luck

    hi,
    it is a problem in third video for your tutorial, here


    I hope fix it :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2019
  13. shadowlord1

    shadowlord1

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Hi! I'm also interested on this integration with UMA.
    Could you please tell me if you have added all scripts and components you see on the demo scene of this package, into the DCA character of UMA?

    Have you tried this?
    1- Add an Animator component to the UMA character prefab on the scene.
    2- Go to UMA (In the main menu) > Bone Builder
    3- Drag the UMA character prefab into the field at the Bone Builder.
    4- Click on "Generate Bones"
    5- MAYBE you'll gonna have to edit the Animation controller that comes in the UMA character to the same that this package works. (Select the UMA character, go to "Race Animation Controllers > Default Animation controller)
    6- Add the required scripts of this package into the UMA character.
     
    hope81dklee likes this.
  14. digiross

    digiross

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Posts:
    246
    I stumbled across this asset and it looks perfect for the game i'm designing. Has their been any news on multiplayer and/or the roadmap for multiplayer features?
     
    shadowlord1 likes this.
  15. redoxoder

    redoxoder

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Posts:
    67
    Hello, it will be nice to have more informations about updates or/and info on new ai asset, and how 1usd will be asked ? On store?
    Thanks
     
    shadowlord1 and Camelot63RU like this.
  16. DankP3

    DankP3

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Posts:
    79
    So I did start something like this a while back, although I have kind of backed off this asset to observe for a while, rather than invest.

    When I did this creating a TPCS character was kind of fiddly, setting up all weapons etc. (prob still is?) . In the end I built the character to spec using bone builder (the Animator can be set as a default in the UMA, no issue). Then I saved the functional character components as a prefab, which I then used as donors and then with a couple of relatively 'simple' scripts and respecting all the components dependencies cloning the exposed variables at runtime to build my UMA.

    Don't get me wrong, you can just use bone builder and setup your character as usual and even switch races at runtime as long as you don't have to rebuild the skeleton (ie. Your races use the same skeleton).

    Dont know if I still have that prototype or not, but could look if of interest (although I couldn't share TPCS assets) . And it wasn't finished when I stopped working with TPCS.
     
    shadowlord1 likes this.
  17. shadowlord1

    shadowlord1

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Thank you very much for sharing your experience DankP3!
    Indeed, it seems that setting up the character with TPCS is a painful task.
    I'm looking for a good controller with Cover system. At this point, it'd be easier for me to make it works with UMA, than replace UMA on my project. To be honest, I was a little afraid of trying this, because there's no documentation or information from the author about TPCS and UMA and this package isn't so cheap to just buy for testing and discard.

    Unfortunately it seems that an automatic integration with UMA is too waaaaaaaay beyond the roadmap of this package.
     
  18. Rahd

    Rahd

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Posts:
    270
  19. hope81dklee

    hope81dklee

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    I will try it! Thank you!
     
  20. MastermindInteractive

    MastermindInteractive

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Posts:
    86
    I love the idea of a more robust AI system. If you go this route, I urge you to not go the Behavior Designer route. There are already so many AI designers out there already and they require a depth of knowledge in order to make a comprehensive enemy behavior. Most people who purchase this asset aren't looking to understand how to wire up a Behavior tree or learn the ins and outs of GOAP to write their own actions. What I would love is simply more enemy types. Expand on the existing AI agents and give us more types of them to tweak. Give us a heavy, a grunt, a stalker, a boss who gets angry when you get his health within a range and changes his attack pattern. Allow us to take those base classes of the enemy and tweak them to make them dumber or smarter, change their weapons, add or remove pre-made actions to make them more versatile.
     
    Miyamoto_Musashi and Toby31 like this.
  21. p_hergott

    p_hergott

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Posts:
    309
    I agree. I think good money solution would be not separate the ai and controller. But give some basic ai with the controller. Almost like class types. Then do add ons for a price. Like a boss so type 4.99 and just branch it out. From animals. To melee. To shooters. Ect just make add on packages.
     
    MastermindInteractive likes this.
  22. throwrocks

    throwrocks

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Posts:
    9
  23. redoxoder

    redoxoder

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Posts:
    67
    any one for a tuto on custom action like stealthkill ????o_O
    any news for update ?? and how it will be proced for 1usd donation ???:)
     
    Camelot63RU likes this.
  24. shadowlord1

    shadowlord1

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Hello guys!
    Could someone help me please?
    I think I've almost successfully integrated this asset with UMA.... But now I have a problem with aiming.
    When I aim up or down the character doesn't rotate its spine following the weapon's aim.
    Does someone have any idea what it happens? How could I fix this or where to look at?
    Thank you in advance!

     
  25. Sarhanbh

    Sarhanbh

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Posts:
    41
    Hi guys i try to work with new tutorials series and i have no found how make cover on the wall like video 18 (level design)
    and i see in video 16 (gameplay) use a prototype one only!

    any tips ?
     
  26. Toby31

    Toby31

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Posts:
    38
    Would be happy to pay an extra $5 if you can get it done faster, with A.I working with tall covers :)
    Also are you due to still release patch on the 15th?
    Will this have separate packages or be in the same format?
    Was going to update to latest patch of Cover shooter today and update to later version of Unity but will wait if you are still on track for the 15th
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2019
    redoxoder likes this.
  27. EduardasFunka

    EduardasFunka

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    461
    I think I will share with the community next week. and release to the store by the end of the month. We encountered a small problem that we can't downgrade package to 2018 or lower versions right now it's saved to 2019.2 beta.
     
  28. Lay84

    Lay84

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    I am in the same boat. not much support or videos for top down (Mobile in my Case).
     
  29. satchell

    satchell

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Posts:
    84
    @EduardasFunka I can put some mobile videos together. If they're off please share thoughts to correct, or let me know to remove 'em...?
     
    Lay84 likes this.
  30. Toby31

    Toby31

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Posts:
    38
    Thanks for the response. :)
    When you say share with the community do you mean on the Unity forum or Patron community?

    When you release on the store at the end of the month will it be to 2019.2 beta version of Unity or the official Unity release at that time?

    I'm used to using the beta releases but have been trying to follow along with your official patch releases on the unity store as I know Beta versions can be a little buggy and can cause problems. So have tried to minimise them.
     
  31. Toby31

    Toby31

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Posts:
    38
    Would like to upgrade from 2018.2.8f1 to use the HDRP render pipeline and wondered if anybody else is using the latest beta version in there own projects and have they had any teething problems.
    How are people getting on with using the third person cover shooter template with 2019.2?
    is it workable with the cover shooter template?
    Are there any bugs that I should be aware of that stops there games functioning?

    Thanks in advance
     
  32. Lay84

    Lay84

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Rand, I've just read through the entire forum and you have been a big contributor and help, thank you!

    It seems like your project is very similar to the one I am starting, Topdown mobile. From the beginning I am having a hard time implementing my own camera and controls to mobile, just setting up as a whole is pretty difficult for mobile. (Tpcs seems to be more friendly for set up with alot more tutorials) Can you please show how you were able to implement in detail how you used control freak for topdown mobile motor, thank you!!

    To Asset Dev, I have been going through forum and see how you have supported this asset and continue to grow it, so I am very happy with my purchase and cant wait to get going after these road blocks. Also there are so many post from user contributing help and supplemental code, and I saw a mention about a wiki, was this ever started. I have been taking screenshots as I go through the forum on my phone but I will eventually have to go back and find each one to copy paste on PC. S

    Sorry for the wall of text
     
  33. Lay84

    Lay84

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    just found this, Thank you @satchell !! Will help me tremendously

    EDIT* very helpful tuturial but only for TPC, need help setting up controls for top down, thanks though will definitely save/subscribe for later use.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2019
    satchell likes this.
  34. satchell

    satchell

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Posts:
    84
    In 2019.1.0f1 you may need to Help>Reset Packages to defaults

    @Lay84 Top Down tut's for sure
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2019
    Toby31 likes this.
  35. SnowblindFatal

    SnowblindFatal

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Hello! How is this library's compatiblity with the A* Pathfinding Project asset? How does Third person cover controller handle pathfinding? Mainly I'm concerned about performance and whether it can react to destructible environments.
     
  36. Unplug

    Unplug

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Posts:
    185
    sounds really bad, my project is in 2017 and there is no way I can upgrade. The asset always have been available to older version. There is nothing related to the render pipeline or anything link to the new motor so will you continue to support unity 2017 ????
     
    JBR-games likes this.
  37. satchell

    satchell

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Posts:
    84


    7:39 Weapons 17:15 Canvas 20:30 Setup Hit Colliders 23:10 Camera

    Thanks @StaticWave for the Character Generator Tool.
    https://github.com/kristiandelay/Third-Person-Cover-Shooter-Template-Character-Tool

    It's pretty dry but you should be able to follow along this is the Player Setup TPCS Top Down Mobile video maybe get around to weapons this weekend.
    EDIT: The weapons vids he's done will work on mobile so nevermind that... Was thinking about Cinemachine?

    I'd recommend turning the music down and playing some deadmau5 - 71c
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2019
    jandernunes, StaticWave and Lay84 like this.
  38. Lay84

    Lay84

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Thank you @satchell !!!! I can now get some work done this weekend! appreciate this tremendously! looking forward to the other Tuts.

    on another note, I am able to get control freak working on the third party controller with TP Input on the mobile scene for moving and other functions, but cant get the top down aiming converted over to control freak, anybody have any luck with this?
     
    satchell likes this.
  39. Lay84

    Lay84

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    was banging my head against the wall for the last 24 hours but after upgrading from 2018.2.10 to 2018.3.12, all of the issues I was having using both control freak 2 for buttons and TPCS mobile aim and move touch controls are gone. Maybe it was the order in which the packages were imported last time that caused the touch aim and move to disable, I'm not sure, but controls work now lol. That along with the tutorial that @satchell has put up has allowed me to move from set up to actual prototyping finally :) , thank you all for the help.
     
    JBR-games and satchell like this.
  40. MastermindInteractive

    MastermindInteractive

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Posts:
    86
    Thank you so much for making this Setup tool. This is exactly what this package is missing. I'm having problems getting the AI to work. When I add my Character and choose the base AI script nothing happens, nothing is added... Any idea why?
     
  41. satchell

    satchell

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Posts:
    84
    I don't know if StaticWave is still supporting this package. I'll try to take a look at it if I can.
     
  42. StaticWave

    StaticWave

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    Hey Hey,

    Make sure you run the character set up tool first, that script will add all the required base classes needed. once the character scripts have been added to your player object the ai generator script will see the base classes exist and add the proper ai scripts. Can you post screen shots of what your player class looks like so i can verify what the object looks like.

    Cheers.
     
  43. StaticWave

    StaticWave

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    I'm always lurking about, i am holding out on changes until the new package hits the store. thanks for supporting the tool =)
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2019
    satchell and Neviah like this.
  44. shadowlord1

    shadowlord1

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    When we have a character set to not be destroyed,this character dies and we re-check the "Is Alive", the character revives... we add them HP again...
    But the AI don't find this character anymore.
    What do I need to do in order to "refresh" the AI to start chasing the character again without reloading the whole level? Is this possible?
     
  45. MastermindInteractive

    MastermindInteractive

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Posts:
    86
    That was it. Thank you!
     
    StaticWave likes this.
  46. StaticWave

    StaticWave

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    Awesome, glad to hear! this made me realize that I could just add those scripts automatically if they don’t exist when trying to create an Ai character. When the next release hits the store I will update the tools.

    feedback welcome!

    Cheers!
     
    Neviah and satchell like this.
  47. Unplug

    Unplug

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Posts:
    185
    i have a hard to explain bug, but maybe it will ring some bell to any of you. I have multiple character, and sometimes, the aim is completely broken. To reproduce, get the gun out, switch character, switch back, try to shoot. The bullet will not follow your aiming orientation and the "hit" fx will occur far from the bullet trail.
     
  48. SnowblindFatal

    SnowblindFatal

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    So I went and bought this asset.

    However, when I import it to my project, it requires a change to the scripting runtime version (3.5) and also overwrites a bunch of project settings files:


    modified: Packages/manifest.json
    modified: ProjectSettings/AudioManager.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/ClusterInputManager.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/DynamicsManager.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/EditorBuildSettings.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/EditorSettings.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/GraphicsSettings.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/InputManager.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/NavMeshAreas.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/Physics2DSettings.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/PresetManager.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/ProjectSettings.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/QualitySettings.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/TagManager.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/TimeManager.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/UnityConnectSettings.asset
    modified: ProjectSettings/VFXManager.asset


    What's the point in this?

    I tried importing this asset into an empty project and copying the ThirdPersonCoverShooter and _TerrainAutoUpgrade folders from the Assets directory to my proper project, but that resulted in about 600 errors such as these:


    You are trying to replace or create a Prefab from the instance 'Main Camera' that references a missing script. This is not allowed.
    Please change the script or remove it from the GameObject.



    You are trying to replace or create a Prefab from the instance 'AIEnemy' that references a missing script. This is not allowed.
    Please change the script or remove it from the GameObject.


    Broken text PPtr in file(Assets/ThirdPersonCoverShooter/Animations/Mecanim assets/Characterzombie2Mirror.controller). Local file identifier (1102028398390424728) doesn't exist!


    Broken text PPtr in file(Assets/ThirdPersonCoverShooter/Animations/Mecanim assets/CharacterAnimator.controller). Local file identifier (1102946906170099550) doesn't exist!


    Broken text PPtr in file(Assets/ThirdPersonCoverShooter/Animations/Mecanim assets/Characterzombie2.controller). Local file identifier (1102686697606018156) doesn't exist!


    Broken text PPtr in file(Assets/ThirdPersonCoverShooter/Animations/Mecanim assets/CharacterAnimator - old.controller). Local file identifier (1102349255893957114) doesn't exist!


    Broken text PPtr in file(Assets/ThirdPersonCoverShooter/Animations/Mecanim assets/Characterzombie1.controller). Local file identifier (1102482889630495228) doesn't exist!


    Broken text PPtr in file(Assets/ThirdPersonCoverShooter/Animations/Mecanim assets/Characterzombie1Mirror.controller). Local file identifier (1102482889630495228) doesn't exist!



    In addition, there are a number of warnings, like:

    OnLevelWasLoaded was found on AISearch
    This message has been deprecated and will be removed in a later version of Unity.
    Add a delegate to SceneManager.sceneLoaded instead to get notifications after scene loading has completed


    Lighting data asset ‘LightingData’ is inconsistent because 17 files out of 84 are missing.  Please use Generate Lighting to rebuild the lighting data.


    A polygon of cowboy is self-intersecting and has been discarded.



    Now I understand that this all may be the result of an error on my part. However, I couldn't find any special installation instructions in the documentation (this would be the first asset that I know of which required some extra steps after clicking "import" in asset store).

    Likewise as a professional developer I understand that sometimes slips happen, but forcing some old runtime version or having a commercial asset produce warning messages are something I certainly didn't expect.

    Anyway, I hope we can resolve these issues! :)
     
  49. StaticWave

    StaticWave

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    This video made me realize a checkbox is needed for mobile controls or not. Leaving notes here so i remember when i circle back to the tool.

    Cheers!
     
    satchell likes this.
  50. SnowblindFatal

    SnowblindFatal

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    To be more specific with my report, I've tried both 2018.3.11f1 and 2018.3.12f1 with same results. My project's scripting runtime version is ".NET 4.x equivalent" (the default setting).
     
unityunity