Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Question "There was a problem activating a new personal license. Make sure you are logged in, and have intern

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by cmdurham, Sep 9, 2021.

  1. xavier513

    xavier513

    Joined:
    May 16, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    Having the same issue. After a long time black blank, Unity Hub failed to update license.
     
  2. dhruvashirsath265

    dhruvashirsath265

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2022
    Posts:
    6
    Hello everyone i am facing problem in unity hub to activating a new personal license so please help me
     
  3. krisventure

    krisventure

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Posts:
    118
    Geez 2022 and we're going backwards and losing basic functionality all of a sudden like literally middle of deadline project, suddenly I lose access to the project completely that I've been working on fine just minutes ago, it crashes entire mac and then comes back to say no personal license. WTF
     
  4. Guilhem_was_taken

    Guilhem_was_taken

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2022
    Posts:
    14
    So the solution I found is to unitsall Unity Hub and install Unity independently using the unity download archive. It works well but you loose all the benefits of the Hub like the asset store or even, since you're not signed in, publishing your games and work with someone else. It's still better than nothing though...
     
  5. apriliasputra

    apriliasputra

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2022
    Posts:
    1
  6. Guilhem_was_taken

    Guilhem_was_taken

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2022
    Posts:
    14
    Do want to install Unity Hub or do the technique I proposed ? If this is the second option, then you have to click on "downloads (mac)" if you have a mac, "downloads (Windows)" if you have a Windows or "downloads (Linux)" if you have a Linux. Then, scroll to Unity Installer and it should redirect you to another page. It will load, and propose you to download Unity Installer. Then, just click on Unity Installer and complete what it asks you step by step. It should work but again, you won't be able to access anything that Unity gives you by being signed in like the Asset Store...
     
  7. UnityMaru

    UnityMaru

    Community Engagement Manager PSM

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Posts:
    1,227
    I'm glad that it's working for some - concerned there's still others affected though.

    Anyone continuing to get problems, please please report it as a bug in the Hub launcher. Right click the Hub icon in the system bar and navigate as shown below.

    Screenshot 2022-02-28 125242.png
     
  8. Nanduky2

    Nanduky2

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2022
    Posts:
    1
  9. DanBarreno

    DanBarreno

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Posts:
    25
    I have tried everything, the only thing that has worked for me has been going back to version 2.4.3, this solved the problem, I hope it helps you.
     
  10. jmaslaki

    jmaslaki

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    I get that too, when I am logged in and have a good internet.
     
  11. ewanyoung737

    ewanyoung737

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    Can you share old versions of Unity hub? Mac os
     
  12. cowtrix

    cowtrix

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    324
    Opened a bug report: https://fogbugz.unity3d.com/default.asp?1410222_ln9h6vao1d6oic0d

    It looks like the request is just timing out when I try to do anything with the license server. This would be easily solved if the Hub just handled not being able to contact the license server more gracefully. If I've activated a license previously on a machine, why block me from using the engine when the license server times out? If I am duping licenses, just kick me when you eventually can make contact with a license server.
     
  13. UmbrAtroX

    UmbrAtroX

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Same problem here:

    Unity hub 3.0.1 says "There was a problem activating a new personal license..."
    I already tried everything here but nothing works

    Unity hub 3.1.0-beta.2 This gives me the license but does not let me open any project.
    Even creating a new project it can only open it the first time, the second time I try it crashed

    I can't find an old version of unity hub on the official site.
    So there is no way to open my projects.

    EDIT

    I solved it.
    Thanks to cristian0700, I downloaded his unity hub version

    Solution:
    1. Using his version of Unity Hub, I revoked my license and set up a new one from that version.
    2. I was finally able to open my projects.
    3. I then upgraded my hub to 3.0.1 and everything works fine now.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2022
  14. cyuxi

    cyuxi

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Posts:
    49
    For anyone who keeps getting the error message "There was a problem activating a new personal license. Make sure you are logged in, and have internet connection.",
    Before trying any other ways out, Please do ensure one thing first!

    1- mouse Right-click on the hub icon,
    2- Run as Administrator
    3- Manage License, Add.

    Don't need any special moves.
    For me, Win10, Hub 3.0.1 c3,
    Just Perfectly Solved!
     
  15. cowtrix

    cowtrix

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    324
    Unfortunately running as admin has no effect. I just have to alternate between mashing the refresh button and relaunching the project anywhere between 5-20 times before I can get it to launch. Not the greatest user experience.
     
  16. kokojudes

    kokojudes

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    this works, thankyou
     
  17. dpapadoiliopoulos

    dpapadoiliopoulos

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    thank you sooo much this is the only thing that worked i hve been trying for an hour thx
     
  18. Guilhem_was_taken

    Guilhem_was_taken

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2022
    Posts:
    14
    For those that still can't download a license, there's still the solution of using Unity without the Hub...
     
  19. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    To solve this problem on macOS need to start Unity Hub as root.
    So I did next:


    # open Terminal
    cd "/Applications/Unity Hub.app/Contents/MacOS"
    sudo "./Unity Hub"
    # enter password


    after that it successfully downloaded and installed Free License
     
  20. iamkhiladi

    iamkhiladi

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2022
    Posts:
    1
  21. unity_162A06932DF94AE403C5

    unity_162A06932DF94AE403C5

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you! Helped to me.
     
  22. Rishi_Soni41

    Rishi_Soni41

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    I'm from India I'm frustrated I gonna delete unity and use unreal for ever so if someone have any solution pleasee...! tell me thank you
     
  23. Guilhem_was_taken

    Guilhem_was_taken

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2022
    Posts:
    14
    If nothing works for you, you can still download unity without unity hub...
     
  24. Hansedison02

    Hansedison02

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the link
    C:\ProgramData\Unity

    Just copy your license you've download it there
     
  25. davpaw

    davpaw

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    I'm on MacOS. Running editor 2021.3.8f1. Hub 3.3.0-beta.1

    Simple fix seems related to file permissions:
    Open Terminal
    Chdir /Library/Application Support
    If dir Unity is not present, sudo mkdir Unity
    sudo chown [your username] Unity
    sudo chmod 777 Unity
    Run license import in Hub as usual. Should be golden.
     
  26. fluctura

    fluctura

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    On Mac, open a Terminal (Terminal App) and type:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. sudo /Applications/Unity\ Hub.app/Contents/MacOS/Unity\ Hub
    Enter your password to grant Unity Hub the necessary permissions.
    License requests will then just work flawless.

    Internally the App handles modern OS permission models wrongly.
    Seems like the developers/testers/QA are NOT working with standard/default test systems but simulate systems that have standard permission models disabled. That's why they run into regressions here. It's just an issue with the App not able to write in internal directories (file system permission denied error).

    Simple to fix, but for some developers hard to find. That's also why opening as Administrator works under Windows. On Linux, try the same with sudo, but switch the executable to the suitable one.
     
  27. davklaud_unity

    davklaud_unity

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks a Lot it worked fine for me!! Thanks again
     
    shwhjw likes this.
  28. El_cute

    El_cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you, it worked for me
     
  29. mosiwarrior

    mosiwarrior

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    my Problem Solved When I Do This Things And Ofcourse I Run It As Administrator
     
  30. mblogest

    mblogest

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    run unity hub with administrator premission
     
  31. ernov

    ernov

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Posts:
    21