Search Unity

The state of documentation

Discussion in 'Documentation' started by Romeno, Apr 6, 2019.

1. Romeno

Romeno

I'm new to Unity and I really struggle to put together things from documentation. It seems all over the place and at the same time giving little cross references. It is often you find information you need on pages you dont think you find or should find it. And they pages that should have the information does not have it.

I want to stress it. Cross-links are a definite problem. The bigger problem is that documentation is shallow. It looks like there is some source of information that is the bigger one. And as far as I can tell I found that place to be the Unity blog.

I mean the documentation is not bad. You understand things if you read it. But you need to be not just attentive to read it. You need to search for info in this documentation. It looks like a heap of well organized info pieces. But it still a heap. And you need to search it and a lot of info is not were it needs to be.

I read much more well put and like godly organized documentations. A lot of examples have errors, are outdated or contain references to obsolete objects. Like Django one is the best there. A lot of other open-source documentations are very reasonable. But this... I mean... It looks like the best we can get.

Are the docs on github btw? This really looks awfull to me. I would prefer to issue pull requests for these docs than "rate" the articles and leave a "feedback". Well what about to feedback on my feedback?

I don't know this really looks bad to me. Even MSDN and other huge corporate documentations are well maintained and well put. I know they have much more financial stability. Don't know if Unity does... Like small indie company. Everybody knows that... But...

This really feels like sloppy attitude...

2. JamieLanger

JamieLanger

+ 1 here.