Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

The Standard Shader

Discussion in 'Unity 5 Pre-order Beta' started by reptilebeats, Nov 4, 2014.

1. reptilebeats

reptilebeats

hey i just thought i would post something i noticed with the standard shader which is really annoying, im not a shader expert though myself.

so when using the height map with an AO map i notice that the AO does not stick/wrap with the change in height. so the AO will stay at its default position creating a very strange effect where the maps no longer sync up.
    i can post pictures if its a bit confusing to what i mean, minds gone blank today.

also i would like to see an extra value to increase the brightness of the spec map and gloss map to create a shinier look during runtime.

2. Roni92

Roni92

You are not supposed to work on material's channels directly in Unity editor. There are other software to do this. And when you are happy with results, you should just put channels textures into slots in Unity and it SHOULD look like in other soft where you made them(if lightning conditions are similar ofc.)

3. reptilebeats

reptilebeats

whats the point of being able to increase/decrease the height map then

4. the_motionblur

the_motionblur

You mean when using the height for paralax then AO does no warp outwards together with the displacement effect, right?
    Could you please post a screenshot? I want to know if I understood that correctly.

5. Roni92

Roni92

Because you changing output of heightmap, not texture. But I agree with you, there could be adjustment for them too ;)

6. reptilebeats

reptilebeats

give me five secs i will post a screen shot let me just make another example up as i deleted the previous one

7. reptilebeats

reptilebeats