Search Unity

The new input system. ???

Discussion in 'Input System' started by tclancey, May 25, 2020.

1. tclancey

tclancey

So I thought I'd give this a go.

Confused? Yes I am.

I've just about got the hang of the input setup screen where you assign keys, but I can't get any input from a controller working at all, I can with the old system, although that's a pain as well.

I've downloaded a load of "Simple" samples, simple my arse! Why make these samples do so much? I just want a VERY simple sample that shows getting an input. Also the samples I've downloaded all seem to use LowLevel, none of the tubes I've found use LowLevel.

Could we please, please have the most simple of simplest examples of getting an input from a controller? I don't want graphs, I don't want flashy boxes, I don't want moment, just please put a value in a variable!!

Rant over.

I must admit I'm pretty new to unity and c#.

Does anyone have a sample as simple as this I could have a look at? Please!!

Many thanks.

Cal_Mac, M_R_M, galbenaim8 and 7 others like this.
  2. unit_dev123

unit_dev123

i had similar problems and am using old system, but in truth i have not tried new system properly. There is someone called 'brackeys' who may be able to help with tutorial.

msibrava, DiogoDB and Ryiah like this.
  3. Ryiah

Ryiah

The following code assumes you've created and attached an input action asset to the script in the Inspector, and that the asset has an action map named "Gameplay" and that it has the actions "Movement" and "Fire".

Line 25's
    ReadValue<Vector2>()
    is essentially the same as
    GetAxis("Horizontal")
    and
    GetAxis("Vertical")

Code (csharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using UnityEngine.InputSystem;
    4. public class Player : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    6.     public InputActionAsset playerControls;
    8.     private InputAction movement;
    9.     private InputAction fire;
    11.     private void Awake()
    12.     {