Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

"The name 'System' does not exist in the current context"

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Huntertyavatar1, Sep 26, 2017.

1. Huntertyavatar1

Huntertyavatar1

Hi, I'm a highschool student currently learning in a game design class. I've been getting CS0103 errors for things that shouldn't be getting them.

For example:
    using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine

public class : MonoBehaviour

All of them, except for the using command and public class, have the error CS0103 on them, as well as any functions I put below Update or Start.

Mind you, the script will still work regardless if I put it on an object and play the scene. I just need to know what might be causing this so I can get these error messages off my dash.

2. JoshuaMcKenzie

JoshuaMcKenzie

you're missing a semi colon

3. Huntertyavatar1

Huntertyavatar1

That's more just how I typed it; the semicolon is still there in the script.

4. Huntertyavatar1

Huntertyavatar1

could not find system.PNG

Here is the whole thing.

5. Brathnann

Brathnann

6. BlackPete

BlackPete

What IDE are you using?

7. Huntertyavatar1

Huntertyavatar1

This should answer both of your questions. The error appears on all of the words with orange on them in the last image.

Like I said, the script still works just fine, and will execute correctly. I just need the reason as to why it's showing up.

Attached Files:

8. Brathnann

Brathnann

Yeah, I'll be honest, I don't know the solution. My coworker on a mac is using monodevelop and sometimes this happens to him, but if he switches to VS for mac, it is fine. I think recently he had a similar issue and he just upgraded the project to a newer Unity version.