Search Unity

Resolved The instantiated "clones" of my prefab don't work like the original.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by noneforyou, Sep 25, 2022.

1. noneforyou

noneforyou

Hi, I'm new to Unity, and I couldn't find anything pinpointing my issue anywhere.

I have an enemy I need to duplicate, so I made a prefab for it, but the prefab doesn't have the completed fields the original has for its targeting component. I need the enemy to target the player, but for some reason the enemy's script that had a public variable for the player's transform was empty. Thus, I made my player a prefab, so I could drag it into the empty variable. Now nothing works. Why? It doesn't make sense because the prefab's instantiated clones should have the correct player to chase, yet they just sit there and do nothing.

I have the original GameObject on the hierarchy, and the clone of the prefab of it, they are identical, yet the original GameObject targets the player, whilst the clone doesn't.

If I don't make anything a prefab, everything works flawlessly. Am I missing a key detail?

I don't know what could help, but here's some stuff:

1. Code for instantiating prefab

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. public class Gameplay : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     // original prefab
    8.     public GameObject originalRook;  // yes it is a chess themed game
    10.     void Start()
    11.     {
    12.         spawnRook(3, 1);
    13.     }
    15.     // params = x coord and y coord to spawn rook
    16.     void spawnRook(float x, float y) {
    17.         Vector3 spawnLocation = new Vector3(originalRook.transform.position.x + x, originalRook.transform.position.y + y, 0);
    18.         GameObject rook = Instantiate(originalRook, originalRook.transform);
    19.         rook.transform.position = spawnLocation;
    20.     }
    21. }

Last edited: Sep 25, 2022
  2. koirat

koirat