Search Unity

The Illusionist, a new Unity-made card game, is underway ...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DaveyJJ, Mar 28, 2007.

1. DaveyJJ

DaveyJJ

I'm not quite ready to put this into the Showcase forum, so I thought for a few weeks this will be the best place to discuss the latest venture I'm undertaking with Unity. More details, screen shots and website to follow shortly in the appropriate forum. So without further ado ...

Hey everyone! I am pleased to announce that with the generous and skilled and talented programming help of Tom Phillips, the advice of developer and friend Peter Baranowski, and professionally produced music, I'm working on creating a unique card game with the Unity engine.

The Illusionist is a fast playing and fun single-player card game derived from a traditional card game I've been developing and play testing for the last 18 months. Think ... Machiavellian politics among the stage magicians and illusionists in late (and somewhat "dark") 19th century London each vying to become the most prestigious/wealthy/famous etc magician in all of London's theatres. Strategy, history, intrigue and luck all play a role in your success.

The Illusionist plays in about 30-40 minutes, and will be a casual shareware game that will sell for a very reasonable (but still TBD) price. We hope to work on it's development at a steady clip over the coming months and will keep Unity forum members updated as to our progress. It has been extensively play tested for over a year in a traditional card game format and has been balanced and adjusted over that time to create a fun, tension filled fast-paced card game with a unique historic twist.

More news and a website URL soon!

2. garyhaus

garyhaus

I'm very excited to see this! It does indeed sound very intriguing!

Cheers

3. aaronsullivan

aaronsullivan

Will you be selling the physical card game as well? Seems like a nice tie-in opportunity.