Search Unity

The gizmo and gameobject dont have the same possition.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by PetterL68, Sep 20, 2018.

1. PetterL68

PetterL68

Hi.
    Im pretty new to Unity and following a online course.
    But yesterday i got a real strange problem with one of my prefab that i have made in the course.
    The gameobject and the Gizmo dont have the same position, making any new prefab a hell to place.

I have tried to delete all copies of the Prefab and tried again but same appear. Others is OK.
    Thinking about deleting the prefab and start all over. But is it some easier way to fix it ?

2. MSplitz-PsychoK

MSplitz-PsychoK

The quick answer you are looking for is that you want to use transform.position for your Gizmos position, and not transform.localPosition. (Or maybe the opposite, it's hard to tell if you're trying to position things based on the prefab or the world around the prefab)

There are 2 types of positions: local position and world position. When you put one object "inside" another object in the hierarchy window, you have a parent object and child object. When an object has a parent, it's local position is now relative to it's parent, which means local position (0, 0, 0) for the child object is the world position of the parent object, even if that position is not (0, 0, 0).

If you give an object a new parent without moving the object, it's local position will change based on the new parent's position, but it's world position will not change. If an object has no parent, it's local position is it's world position.

Last edited: Sep 20, 2018
  3. PetterL68

PetterL68

Thanks for the reply
    I IMG_20180920_203759.jpg have taken a picture of the screen.

Here is the Coin. The yellow dot on the left hand and the box and the sphere on the way to the gamescreen

4. PetterL68

PetterL68