Search Unity

Question The game crashes on startup for some users (Steam + Windows)

Discussion in 'Windows' started by GeorgePrudnik, Feb 28, 2023.

  1. GeorgePrudnik

    GeorgePrudnik

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    We recently launched the game on Steam and started receiving crashes. For ~2% of players, the game does not even start, it immediately crashes. I collected dmp files from two people, I hope someone can tell what could be the problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    Both of the dumps point to a stack overflow in your C# code. I cannot tell you which C# code triggers it without GameAssembly.dll and "BackUpWithFolder_ButDontShipItWithYourGame" contents, though (don't post them publicly, if you want, you can send them to me via a PM).
     
  3. GeorgePrudnik

    GeorgePrudnik

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Sent files to you. Thanks for responding
     
  4. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    Thanks.

    You're running into this: https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...re-group-introduces-crash-when-hands-detected. We originally believed that the bug only affected HoloLens but the dump you sent me proves that it can also affect regular Windows builds. We have a fix that's scheduled to go out with Input System Package 1.5.1. If you don't want to wait, you can downgrade back to Input System Package 1.4.4.

    Btw, it's always worth backing up the folders I mentioned :). Debugging crash dumps is pretty much impossible without them (and recreating them will not work most of the time).
     
    GeorgePrudnik likes this.
  5. GeorgePrudnik

    GeorgePrudnik

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Thank you! We'll try to return to version 1.4.4 and I will write if it worked (or not)
     
  6. GeorgePrudnik

    GeorgePrudnik

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    It worked, thanks!
     
  7. TravisDow

    TravisDow

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    How do you revert back to the old Input System Package?
     
  8. Conjuro

    Conjuro

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    As an end user is there anything that can be done to bypass the bug (disabling a device/change a setting/replace a file//etc)? Or is our only option to wait for the developers to compile a version with either 1.4.4 or 1.5.1 (when it releases)?
     
  9. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    Edit the project manifest with a text editor to point to an older input system package version.

    I'd try disconnecting all USB devices from your computer and cross the fingers that it's not your keyboard/mouse that causes the issue.