Search Unity

Unity The Future of Unity Feedback

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by Buhlaine, Feb 21, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WazzaM

    WazzaM

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    Hello @Buhlaine, where in the forum does the feedback actually go?
    As far as I can tell this is for announcements. Groovy. Then, I go to the Forum main page and the closest thing at that top level is the Beta forum.

    ...because I want to give feedback about Unity Hub and how a number of use cases are now BROKEN by Hub being made an intrinsic part of Unity 2019.1.
    I love some of the stuff you guys do but it's pretty clear that holistic thought is missing, about _how_ Hub integrates with the Editor.

    A case, in point, is that the module management function of the Hub is only available for Unity Editors installed via the Hub. Why is that? And why is it that the Editor tells you to install Android SDK via the Hub when I installed it using the download assistant (not Hub) and it should know that this cannot be done. It's bad guidance.

    The Hub UI isn't quite complete, so it feels a bit rushed to make this a forced part of the Editor experience.
     
  2. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,421
    Feedback regarding Unity Hub are best posted to the Unity Hub forum:
    https://forum.unity.com/forums/unity-hub.142/
    Make sure to add the "Feedback" tag when you create a new thread. It's next to the thread title that you enter.

    Actual bugs (broken functionality) are best reported through the Unity Bug Reporter Tool.
    Please submit a bug-report as described in this document:
    https://unity3d.com/unity/qa/bug-reporting

    It's important that you report these issues together with a reproduction project if you want them to get fixed. If you don't do it, it might be a long time until someone else reports them or until Unity Technologies find them.

    After you submitted the bug-report, you receive a confirmation email with a bug-report Case number. Please post the Case number (number only, not the link) in the forum thread where you posted about the problem initially, for Unity staff to pick up.
     
    LeonhardP likes this.
  3. mostlyhuman

    mostlyhuman

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    40
    Unity Feedback: for WindZones, make the current pulse value (or intensity) readable so developers can create changing wind sounds/volumes to match the intensity of the pulse.
     
  4. DrummerB

    DrummerB

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    51
    Where are we supposed to post feedback now? I don't see a feedback subforum.
     
  5. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,421
    In the corresponding sub-forum and then you have to add the "Feedback" tag to the title. For example, if you want to provide feedback regarding the prefabs system, you would click "Post new thread" in the Prefabs sub-forum and click the "(no prefix)" text that is located next to the thread title and choose "Feedback" as prefix.
     
    UnityMaru likes this.
  6. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,748
    artincz, Storm4_, Xarbrough and 2 others like this.
  7. oliiix

    oliiix

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    Yes great idea, let's move it from one place to another to another... let's make more mess than we already got
     
  8. ItDaRapta

    ItDaRapta

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Do you know what I think would make scene management a lot easier? Tags for scenes. That way if two scenes had the same properties, they have the same actions acted upon them, instead of having to write out code for every single scene. Thanks for reading
    -ItDaRapta
     
  9. joshcamas

    joshcamas

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Posts:
    938
    Still extremely frustrating and jarring when finding a page that might have some helpful info then being thrown to this thread again and again and again. Please bring back the site and just disable logging in + making posts or something. Please.
     
    a436t4ataf, CyRaid, Knil and 5 others like this.
  10. HargrimCsorcon

    HargrimCsorcon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    31
    Several months have passed but all my feedback threads were successfully ignored. If nobody of Unity team can give any answer in these threads what is this feature for?
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2019
    a436t4ataf, Storm4_ and Alvarezmd90 like this.
  11. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,203
    Is anybody from Unity Technologies reading this thread?

    When will we have a search field in the "Exporting package" window?

    Capture.JPG
     
  12. ConAim

    ConAim

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    Yeah yeah... for random crashed on latest 2019.1 HDRP projects.
    Ooops, crashed, report dialog popped, filled out info but NOT able to send the data, lets do the manual way.
    Very productive/supportive...
     
    fct509 likes this.
  13. munzevi30

    munzevi30

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Hi, I wanted to ask questions, I accidentally signed up to the advisory panel :) I am using Unity 5.6. ProBuilder 2.x writes free. Can I design and sell models using these tools? Are there any copyright shortages?
     
  14. TalhaDX

    TalhaDX

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Posts:
    94
    Asking for money for feature as simple as Dark theme does not look good now. In last 10 years Unity has developed so much and extended its services in whole lot of businesses like Automative, VR/AR, Films and more. With all this in your hand, it seems really cheap (I am sorry if anyone finds it offensive) that you ask for money for dark theme feature.

    PLEASE ALLOW DARK THEME AS FREE !!!
     
    Storm4_, andreiagmu, chambino and 2 others like this.
  15. Stardog

    Stardog

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,409
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/editor-skinning-thread.711059/
     
    Vagabond_ likes this.
  16. pulla0000

    pulla0000

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Add emission map support to the Sprite lit shader from 2d lightning, it will be perfect with this.
     
  17. AhSai

    AhSai

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Posts:
    43
    I hope Unity can add a "int readIndexUpTo" parameter in the CustomRenderTexture.SetUpdateZones function so that we don't have to create a new array every time when the array size is different. Pretty much like the concept of Physics.OverlapSphereNonAlloc but in reverse.
     
  18. Ecna_At_Oculus

    Ecna_At_Oculus

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I came here from a redirect from the old feedback website. Can you update the original announcement post with some instructions on what to do with feature requests? Should I create a new thread? On which subforum? The answer is probably somewhere in this 5 page thread, but I don't want to read the whole thing just to know where to post my feature request.
     
  19. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,203
  20. Xibyth

    Xibyth

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    So like, download progress to much to ask for.
     
  21. Aidan-Wolf

    Aidan-Wolf

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    54
    Runtime VP8 transcoding for those of us who need to download/stream transparent video.
     
  22. fct509

    fct509

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    I just started a tutorial that requires Unity 2019.1 (if you want to follow it step by step), when I noticed an issue with what-very you call the feature that checks for newer versions of Unity. This feature was telling me that I should install Unity 2019.2.0f(some other digit). I already have Unity 2019.2.3f1 installed on said machine, which is newer than the version I was advised to install. While this isn't the type of issue that would break things, it is the type of issue that would make a User think something along the lines of, "Well, that's dumb. Who programmed this?"

    I get that Unity 2019.1 will be getting less love now that Unity 2019.2 is out and the 2019.3 beta is getting recommended for use. Yet, this sounds like it's probably a piece of code that will get inherited, so it might worth checking that 2019.2 and 2019.3 don't have this issue.
     
  23. nori0515

    nori0515

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, I reported the issue below to Unity Taiwan, they told me to email Customer Support, and after I mailed to Customer Support I got a reply and redirected me here...so I read through this thread and post, if there is anything bothering I'm sorry.

    -------
    I'm a returning Unity user from Taiwan.
    When I was following the official Unity tutorial to know about the new functions of Unity,
    I was taken to Unity Connect that I previously registered,
    So I entered the Unity ID settings page,
    and surprisingly found that my location settings had become "Russia" without knowing why,
    so I tried to open the drop-down menu to correct it.

    But ... I can not find "Taiwan" there, only "China Taiwan".
    This makes me very unacceptable and angry, who changed this???


    I love using Unity,
    but I can NOT tolerate that my country Taiwan treated as a part of China,
    a dictatorship country without the freedom of speech and democracy,
    anyone would be banned or arrested to jail,
    just because he/she created something that against the government and/or the leader.

    Sorry to mention about politics here,
    but I only want to create games freely,
    without worrying if my country and my freedom might disappear someday.
     
    litsungyiAktsk, fct509 and Stardog like this.
  24. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    4,432
    The official name of Taiwan is the "Republic of China", so I'm guessing that they're just following that. Putting it next to Hong Kong and Macao is a bit unfortunate, though, but that's alphabetization for you.
     
  25. Android272

    Android272

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    Considering we can now install updates through Unity Hub, I think that the "Unity has a new update" dialogue box should be removed from Unity and added to Unity hub.
     
    joshcamas likes this.
  26. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,203
    Given how the Hub is anything but reliable about editors updates, I'd say no, let's keep the notification within the editors. ;)
     
    fct509 likes this.
  27. Mad_Mark

    Mad_Mark

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Posts:
    392
    FEEDBACK:
    1) Unity continues to develop "cutting edge" demos that show what is possible using the engine. Great, however you are forgetting at least one major objective. Make them usable, not with special custom features that are not exposed to the dev community, and not updated as the engine progresses! The recently released FPS Sample is a good example. It was supposed to be a learning tool to aid in the development of multi-player FPS games. I downloaded it, and installed it, and it just doesn't perform. I don't know if you are doing your demos on a Cray, but performance here is lacking, there seems no logic in the layout or modularity of code, and I learned zero from the exercise. The same is true for Book Of The Dead. It _requires_ a specific version of 2018, has a ridiculous install time, and so far I have not been able to get it working, even using 2018.3.

    2) Crashes have been virtually eliminated. Thank you. Versions 4.x through 5.x were so prone to crashing when doing lighting builds. Since 2017 this has vastly improved. I can't recall the last time I had the engine collapse, corrupting a project. Good job.

    3) Still takes way too long to do lighting updates.

    4) There is still a lack of good, useful, modular, re-usable code. Do we really need to pay for a decent character controller? Why are the Standard Assets moving targets? If they are standard assets, INCLUDE THEM. Same with particles. Don't make me guess what version I should be importing into a specific version of Unity. I'm downloading from inside the engine, it should know what version I am running on.
     
    fct509 likes this.
  28. superjayman

    superjayman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    143
    Make Only ONE-VERSION OF UNITY.. At the moment unity is an Absolute mess!!!.. No documentation, confusing updates. Too many broken updates. What's the difference between LWRP and URP and SRP and HDRP ect. ect.

    DOCUMENTATION AND EXAMPLES???
     
  29. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,421
    https://blogs.unity3d.com/2019/09/20/how-the-lightweight-render-pipeline-is-evolving/

    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/ScriptableRenderPipeline.html
    https://unity.com/srp

    HDRP
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@7.1/manual/index.html

    UniversalRP
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/com.unity.render-pipelines.universal@7.1/manual/index.html

    The documentation can be found via the Package Manager, it's the blue "View Documentation" text that opens the documentation if you click it.

    upload_2019-9-30_7-23-38.png
     
    APSchmidt likes this.
  30. fct509

    fct509

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    I'm liking the new 20XX.1 to 20XX.4 cycle thing they have going. If you read Mad_Mark's post (right above yours), he mentions that Unity is far more stable than it used to be. That's partly due to how they now have three versions of Unity. You have the latest version (2019.2), a Long Term Support (LTS) version for where they left off of last year (2018.4) and an LTS for where they left off of the year before last (2017.4). If you want something that is still getting bug fixes and doesn't constantly change the feature set, then go with one of the LTS versions of Unity. Those will get supported for two years. Sure, they keep releasing new "versions" of 2018.4 and 2017.4, but those new versions are bug fixes; they're not really new versions of Unity. That said, it would be nice if Unity didn't need to convert items when I change versions of the same LTS.

    Not too long ago, Unity went though a feature growth spurt, that caused all sorts of instabilities that led to a lot of crashing. Seeing that their product was becoming unusable, Unity slowed down on the new features and focused on getting things stable again. This thing where they have two LTS versions and the latest feature version is a very nice middle ground, where they can still work on introducing new features while maintaining something that's becoming more and more stable. So, if you want all the latest features (along with all the bugs that come with said features), stick to the latest version (which is currently the newest version of 2019.2 or the beta of 2019.3 if you really feel like testing things). If you want something that has a lot of the newer (stable) features that might not be the newest features, then go with the newest version of 2018.4. And, if you want something that is as stable as possible, then use 2017.4 (for now). I mean, 2017.4 is probably 3/4 of the way through it's supported lifetime, so a lot of bugs have been ironed out.

    As for their documentation, yeah, their documentation can be real crap for a lot of things. A lot of items in their API is nothing more than vomiting back the name of the item you are looking at. And, some settings will only work when combined with certain items, but those settings almost never mention that they're part of a combination of items in order to work. Then again, as a programmer, I'm not really that much better when it comes to my documentation.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2019
  31. fct509

    fct509

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    FEEDBACK:
    Please, stop making it more and more and more difficult to find the release notes to the different versions of Unity. Today I was informed that there was an update to Unity 2018.4 LTS. Yet, the usual route I take to find the installer and release notes with all of the bug fixes was closed off due to changes in the website that weren't there last week. So, I dug around the website and while I did manage to find a faster way to the release notes for the latest version of Unity; I was unable to find a path to the LTS release notes. Well, to be precise, I was unable to find a path to the LTS release notes from within the Unity web site. In order to get to the notes, I left your web site and Googled it; that took me straight to the page I wanted.

    It does not reflect well when people need to leave your site in order find things that are on your site. It reflects even less well then the thing they are looking for is information on a product that you created and released on your site.

    Edit: Oct. 14th, 2019:
    Sweet, the links are back.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2019
  32. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,421
    My approach is to visit the download archive:
    https://unity3d.com/get-unity/download/archive

    There are all Unity version downloads as well as their corresponding release notes. What's your way to get a look at the release notes?

    upload_2019-10-12_8-27-3.png
     
  33. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    4,432
    The problem with the download archive is that it's hard to find if you're coming from unity.com. Unity's websites are not very easy to get around on.

    But who navigates a website, these days? If you want the release notes for a version, google "Unity release notes". There's no way in the world you can design a website that's as fast to navigate as google is at finding the correct part of the website from a general query over the whole web.
     
  34. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,203
    I do. This is how I know how impractical Unity's has become.

    Why using a search engine when you can bookmark pages anyway?
     
  35. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    4,432
    Honestly? Ease of use. Getting to the Unity download archive is:
    ctrl+t
    "unity archive"
    tab
    enter (accessibility features ftw)
    enter

    There's probably a good way to access a bookmark by keyboard only and in few clicks, but I couldn't find one in my browser that was convenient.

    None of this means that Unity shouldn't be doing much more to make their website easier to use.
     
  36. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,203
    I don't think I ever said otherwise but bookmarks are a perfect way of keeping track of elusive pages.
     
  37. fct509

    fct509

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    I wouldn't have thought to check something named archive for something that is current, but it's good to know that it might be possible to find it there.

    Before, I would just scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the Long Term Support link. Then I would need to click though one or two pages to get to a page that has the Long Term Support link. Then I had to click through to a specific page before I could scroll down to the bottom and click on the Long Term Support link. Now, all of those pages have removed the Long Term Support link. It seems that bit by bit, Unity has been removing links from their pages.
     
  38. fct509

    fct509

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    Even if they it's not possible to make your web page navigation as fast as Googling to the correct page on your site. There should always be a fast, clear, and easy way (within your site) to get to the very product details of your main product, or in this case, their only product.
     
  39. Erenquin

    Erenquin

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Posts:
    19
    Hello,
    just coming to give my voice in favor of having themes in the free version.
    Not only dark theme, but the possibility to save/load themes, like in Visual Studio.
    If you want to keep a gap between commercial version and free version, you could have some pre-defined themes in free version (lighter / light / dark / darker, like in Gimp), and the save/load feature I describe above in the pro version.

    Nowadays all tools have themes, Blender, Gimp (ok those are free), but also Visual Studio has it (including save/load feature, or more so import/export), in the free version.
    This is to name but a few tools. I'm quite sure all Intellij have such a feature too, etc ...

    I saw your keynotes where you present the interface refinment. That's probably the best opportunity to slip this in.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2019
    TextusGames likes this.
  40. julesd

    julesd

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    In the My Assets section could we get a Downloading status. For the packages that are currently downloading.
    And most important, I cannot believe it is not implemented yet. " THE ABILITY TO PAUSE AND RESUME OUR DOWNLOADS". This includes the HUB when downloading versions of UNITY and My Assets Downloads. PLEASE.
     
  41. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    353
    I would simply like to know what asset store packages I've downloaded into my project, including the version number. So that I can know if any need to be updated. Not asking for much.
     
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  42. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,361
    ^ This should become possible with the package manager, and when asset store publishers start to use packages.
     
  43. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    353
    ^ I'm using the package manager and it's not happening yet with the packages from the asset store. As it's still buggy and even less useful than the in-editor store, I'm going to revert to the store.
     
  44. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,203
    It's better using the package manager this one being up to date compared to the store. ;)
     
  45. konsic

    konsic

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    960
    1. After Visual scripting is out of preview for DOTS, I would like visual scripting would get to standard C#, like Unreal blueprints.
    2. HDRP needs atmospheric scattering and sun shafts/god rays
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2019
    TextusGames likes this.
  46. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,203
    Forcing everyone to use it?
     
  47. konsic

    konsic

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    960
    Not forced. For example, you would set up the nodes and then then switch to the code, if you would like,
    back and forth.
     
  48. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,203
    No way, if you use nodes, you use nodes, you won't be able to "switch" to code from the nodes.

    If visual scripting is added to Unity, I want it to be a package that I can choose to install or not.
     
    fct509 and hippocoder like this.
  49. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    353
    Visual scripting is being added and there is a preview version available. @konsic if you don’t want to wait there are a few great third party solutions available in the asset store. One of which, Bolt, I’m pretty sure can convert from nodes to code.

    @APSchmidt I’m not sure what you mean by the package manager being more up to date than the store. I’m assuming you’re joking? The Package Manager is currently garbage for installing non-Unity packages.
     
  50. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,203
    That's why I was talking about Unity packages not non Unity packages.
     
    hippocoder likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity