Search Unity

The first Unity 3.0 pre-purchase betas are now shipping!

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by HiggyB, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. TwinFox

    TwinFox

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    66
    Thanks for the clarification. What is the checker for then, I thought it was specifically to notify when new betas were available? Oh well, I must have misunderstood.
     
  2. w00dn

    w00dn

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Posts:
    275
    LOVE AND HAPPYNESS!

    building on indi iphone now works with the just updated version 3.0.0b4!
    thank you so much, unity!
     
  3. niosop2

    niosop2

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,059
    I've heard that the Mac version contains a changelog. Anyone know if the windows version contains one, and if not could someone post the changelog somewhere?
     
  4. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,316
    The changelog is posted in the beta area on Google groups.

    --Eric
     
  5. Don-Gray

    Don-Gray

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    2,278
    "the checker will not show new versions. you will get a mail once its accessible"

    I had been checking periodically most of the morning but I didn't find beta 4 by checking.
    I was using Unity b3 and it notified me that it was available for download, the update dialog opened on it's own.
     
  6. kheng

    kheng

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Are you guys not giving out any more beta builds? Cause I would really like to check it out!
     
  7. antenna-tree

    antenna-tree

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,325
    If you pre-order Unity 3 at this point you will receive the beta pre-release within a few days... at least that's the plan ;)

    If you have pre-ordered Unity 3 within the last week or so and have still not received the beta please give us one more day to get out beta 4 for the pre-order customers. Yes, there are separate builds for the public beta and the closed beta and it takes a day or two to get the pre-order version ready.
     
  8. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Just one of many great new features, but the MonoDevelop integration is perfect! Debugger, intillisense, solution/project generation. It all works perfectly 1st try for me :D
     
  9. Per

    Per

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    459
    Monodevelop integration isn't so great here, in fact it's very far from perfect indeed.

    The only way to work is to open the project itself manually from Monodevelop, I had expected something smoother, even just an open project button from Unity would have been nice.

    There are a bunch of errors during load of Monodevelop, and it has a runtime exception error when you close any file.

    Clicking edit in unity loads up the text file in a new instance of Monodevelop always regardless of whether the project file is open or not in another instance, it also opens without the linked libraries and monodevelop intellisense doesn't seem capable of working in that situation so no autocomplete or highlighting, so it basically means the Edit/Double click methods of opening files in Unity are useless.

    It also fails to refresh the project when you sync it from Unity, the only way is to manually unload and reload...

    I'd really like it if these bugs and behaviors were fixed to create a smoother integration and workflow.
     
  10. rockysam888

    rockysam888

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Posts:
    650
    In island demo, when we stand near a big tree (with large body), the leaves disappeared. When we move far away, these leaves shows up.
    I reported this in beta3, but it still exists in beta 4.
    :(
     
  11. Dan Fury

    Dan Fury

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Posts:
    158
    Thanks for the update, I ordered on Sunday and cannot wait to compile stuff for Android. :D
     
  12. Joe ByDesign

    Joe ByDesign

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    841
    @Per
    Submit them as bugs using Help -> Unity Bug Reporter if you want to see them fixed! :)
     
  13. antenna-tree

    antenna-tree

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,325
    Can you post the case number here please.
     
  14. rockysam888

    rockysam888

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Posts:
    650
    364163

    The case is still opened.
     
  15. antenna-tree

    antenna-tree

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,325
    Great, thanks. I assigned it to the proper person to get it fixed.
     
  16. iphonedev

    iphonedev

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Posts:
    31
    Is there a list of fixes for U3 beta 4. Specifically if the iphone (basic) build is fixed so I can start to build to xcode?

    Thanks.
     
  17. Peter G

    Peter G

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Posts:
    610
    I still can't build in Iphone Basic beta 4. Is that a known bug?

    Could you check on bug 365002? It was in beta 3 and I still have the problem in beta 4. It has to do with Physx so I'm not sure if it is an expected change with the upgraded version or a bug.

    Besides for that, I love Unity 3. :D Thanks for the great product.
     
  18. antenna-tree

    antenna-tree

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,325
    According to our main iPhone QA guy beta 4 should build in iPhone Basic.
     
  19. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    I'm not experiencing any of those problems. I'm using Beta4. Works perfectly for me so far. Make sure you set your External Script Editor to MonoDevelop.app

    edit: also I created a new Unity project, and the Monodevelop solution/project was autogenerated which is nice. Not sure if it does that for existing Unity projects I haven't tried yet.
     
  20. Peter G

    Peter G

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Posts:
    610
    Then I'm probably doing something wrong, I get this error:

    Error building Player: UnityException: Failed AOT cross compiler: /Applications/Unity/Unity.app/Contents/BuildTargetTools/iPhonePlayer/mono-xcompiler --aot=full,asmonly,nodebug,ficall,static,outfile="Assembly-CSharp.dll.s" "Assembly-CSharp.dll" current dir : /Users/Glotfelty/Desktop/U3:2D Iphone Game/Temp/StagingArea/Data/Managed std=
    output:
    The assembly mscorlib.dll was not found or could not be loaded.
    It should have been installed in the `/lib/mono/2.0/mscorlib.dll' directory.
    result file exists: False
    UnityEditor.HostView:OnGUI()


    My scripts are all iPhone compatible with 1.7 so I'm not sure what the problem is minus the code I had to update because it was obsolete now.
     
  21. niosop2

    niosop2

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,059
    Looking good, but it seems spotlight shadows at low range are still wonkey. Bug 364890.
     
  22. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    3,063
    Why are the release notes pointing to a webpage with older info about 2.6?

    Can't we have release notes for each version in a text file that comes with the binary?
     
  23. Per

    Per

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    459
    Have done, I always report bugs via the bug reporter first before mentioning them here.
     
  24. Per

    Per

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    459
    It is, otherwise it wouldn't load up the file in monodevelop when you double click them or press the edit button and it wouldn't generate the project file.
     
  25. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    OK sounds good:) This is an obvious thing to check but did you see that there is a new build of MonoDevelop that got released with beta4? Cheers,
     
  26. Per

    Per

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    459
    Yup, using it.

    I've just tested on OSX and there are no problems there, it's just the windows side that seems to be having problems.
     
  27. Dan Fury

    Dan Fury

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Posts:
    158
    I know you will hate me for bumping it, but hey, I waited 2 days, double the time you asked for. :twisted: Any chance we'll get the beta over the weekend?
     
  28. Undead

    Undead

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Anyone having problems with the occlusion culling?

    I have a basic scene with a single terrain tile in it (2000x2000), if I try to calc' the PVS in preview mode it works, but if I select production mode it sits there for about 10 mins, gets less than 1/4 of the way through the progress bar and then falls over.

    All I get is a completly blank error box and then unity tells me : "Error occurred in PVS computation"
    Error in file : ..\..\Editor\Src\OcclusionCulling.cpp at line 354
     
  29. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    3,063
    there is a problem with lensflares on the iPhone in my scene, it worked fine with 1.7. I need ot look into it before I file a bug. Anyone noticed artifact when using lensflare on iphone?
     
  30. cadamson

    cadamson

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Posts:
    27
    We have had problems with this as well. Please submit a bug report. The only way I got around this was to add an occlusion area (from the components menu) to a game object. This not only stops the error, but it also speeds up the processing.

    Chad
     
  31. chadchat

    chadchat

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    154
    I've searched Google Groups.. could you be more specific.. please~

    c
     
  32. mrbdrm

    mrbdrm

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    510
    any one tryed the light shafts ?
    i can't get them to work
     
  33. duke

    duke

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    763
    I'd love to have a "Use Ambient" flag in the lightmap editor. I was wondering why my scene still had a tint to it even with no lights and the sky intensity at 0 - it uses the scene ambient, which isn't always ideal.
     
  34. Undead

    Undead

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    I tried your suggestion and it does indeed speed up the calc' and stops the error, thx :D
     
  35. chingwa

    chingwa

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,681
    I put my order in for Unity 3.0 on July 3rd, but have not yet received any info regarding the beta. Do I need to enter my upgraded serial number into unity to be given a beta email?
     
  36. Don-Gray

    Don-Gray

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    2,278
    " Do I need to enter my upgraded serial number into unity to be given a beta email?"

    No, if you have upgraded the email will be sent without any further action on your part.
     
  37. Mark-Sweeney

    Mark-Sweeney

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Posts:
    172
    I pre-ordered on July 13 - still haven't got anything other than an email with the serial#. Links in the email are for iPhone basic 1.7 and Unity 2.6

    When you say betas are going out - are you snail-mailing them?

    Thanks!
     
  38. Detocroix

    Detocroix

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Posts:
    75
    They should e-mail the beta links, but I haven't received anything yet so I guess they are finishing up fixes to the beta build before making next roll :D
     
  39. TheRedTape

    TheRedTape

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    Hey Guys!

    So on June the 16th I ordered Unity 3 + Unity 3 iPhone Basic. Still haven't received anything except for the invoice email...

    Is this correct or should I contact Unity Technologies??

    Thank You!
     
  40. Peter G

    Peter G

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Posts:
    610
    Considering I ordered my a week after you and got mine 2 weeks ago, I would contact Unity support yes.
     
  41. TheRedTape

    TheRedTape

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    Ok thank you :) Will contact them
     
  42. caitlyn

    caitlyn

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    402
    Feel free to contact sales@unity3d.com if you need further help getting your beta.

    Cheers

    Caitlyn
     
  43. pdrummond

    pdrummond

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Posts:
    185
    I ordered my upgrade to Unity 3 on March 22. Should I have received the beta info by now?

    Thanks.
     
  44. caitlyn

    caitlyn

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    402
    Paul-- yes you should have.

    FYI, we used a checkbox of "do you want to receive future news and updates from Unity?" as criteria for which customers "want" to receive the preview build. This was probably a little unclear!

    Again, just email sales@unity3d.com with your invoice or serial number and we'll get it to you.

    Cheers

    Caitlyn
     
  45. BSECaleb

    BSECaleb

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Posts:
    72
    So where are we in the beta queue? I ordered on 7/10. I don't think I checked the little box because I had already done so on previous orders. Is the queue still held up because of beta 4?




     
  46. caitlyn

    caitlyn

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    402
    Sorry, I have not got that date in front of me.

    But if you're unsure if you should have received it, just write in with your serial/invoice and we'll gladly check on a case by case basis and let you know.
     
  47. mrbdrm

    mrbdrm

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    510
    idk if this is the right place but where can i find the change log for b4 ?
     
  48. pdrummond

    pdrummond

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Posts:
    185
    I am getting news and update emails but there was nothing about the beta. I've sent a message to sales as suggested.

    Looking forward to trying the new version of Unity. Is it considered stable enough to create builds for the iPhone, or should I stick with version 2 for now?
     
  49. caitlyn

    caitlyn

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    402
    Hey Paul-- we just got your request-- please check out your email. The beta is, IMO, extremely stable. However as is the case with beta versions everywhere, standard disclaimer applies. We can't be held accountable if it sets fire to your computer, explodes heads, turns into SkyNet etc etc etc. ;)
     
  50. Don-Gray

    Don-Gray

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    2,278
    "turns into SkyNet"

    Ah, but Ah-nold will come for you...

    :D
     
unityunity